Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

In life we don’t alway find everything topped with a glittery crown…

…or can we?

I love adding the final touches to a wonderfully crafted piece of art.  One of my favorites is to add a glittery, shimmery crown.  I was working on one such piece today.

Sweet Gracie sits and watches over me as I create...always with a satisfying look of approval~

~I mentioned that I am moving my on-the-move art studio back to the not-so-glamorous laundry room – which is going to work out perfect (so I keep telling myself).  Each time I rearrange this part of my life, all I can think about doing is creating that next piece.  I think it has to do with the freshness and tidiness of it all.  Let me tell you, this area is still showing a bit of chaos but every little bit I just have to sit down and tinker.

I then moved on to washing all of my windows feeling a little bit pouty because I just wanted to make something fun.  Because I had just made the sweet crown for Miss Gracie, I found ‘myself’ telling ‘myself’ that life isn’t always going to be about adding the fun glittery crown.  Work has to be done and my life demands that I be productive in a variety of areas.

Well…the longer I washed windows the happier I got.  I LOVE clean windows so much and they have been BAD for a while now.  As I was standing here…

You know the place Im talking about!

You know the place I'm talking about!

…so I could reach the tippy top of my windows I found myself smiling, not just because I like to live a little on the edge, but I was able see the wonderful benefits of my hard work.  That’s when I decided that my finished product, even here, was indeed a shiny crown.

this view demands clean windows!

this view demands clean windows!

I began thinking deep thoughts like:  when we do what is right and good there are always benefits, we may not see or realize them as quickly as we can when we wash 2 sides of a window and sometimes we have to look long and hard but it’s there, even if it’s just the joy we experience from it (joy can never be over-rated!!!).

Watch for the shiny, shimmery, glittery crowns in your life!

I just couldnt leave her along~tonight I have her rhinestone earrings.

So often we’re surrounded by those crowns but we just aren’t looking hard enough to see them.

October 14, 2008 Posted by | home life, just plain fun, soldered charms | Leave a comment

Custom soldered charms…


Here are a few orders that I am getting out today

These two girls, who are on their way to Tennessee, are two of my favorites. – They seem to be on opposite extremes but farmgirls all the same.  They would both fit in at Mary Janes Farm.  I’ve got to tell you that she {Mary Jane} puts out the best magazine.  I’m so excited that just this year it has become a regular subscription (she used to put out 1 or 2 a year…and it has always been a quality magazine).  With each issue that comes I just get tingly all over.

I wanted to say thanks to a new blogging friend @ Diane Knott’s Musings, for giving me some painting advise.  What a delightful gal with some great inspirations…as an added BONUS, she has vintage images that she shares throughout her blog.

I was just reminded that my original artwork of the girl picking the apples has this on the bottom.

October 14, 2008 Posted by | favorite magazines, soldered charms, vintage | 1 Comment