Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Art Retreat 2010

I’m so excited to announce a retreat that I’ve been working on that I’ve given the name…

βσhσ Art Retreat

I’ve found that I have become increasingly interested in the Art Retreats that have been popping up around the country.  They seems to cultivate in women:

spirit

enthusiasm

creativity

friendship

new ideas

inspiration

and

adventure

I’ve looked into some, enthusiastically hoping to jump in and sign up for one, only to find out that they really are beyond my means, financially ~ that’s just where I am at…I always have to consider the cost.

A few months ago I was checking into one that was w/in driving distance at the cost of $350 and I felt that I could muster that one up…kind of like my own little vacation…only to find out that from 2009 to 2010 the cost would go up another $200.

I was a little discouraged at first but very quickly my discouragement turned to excitement.

You see, I have the perfect set-up right here for my very own art retreat.  I have a large home in a beautiful, wooded, rural setting with cabins.  My mom {whom I believe I have talked into helping}, is a wonderful cook.  I have others, who are very gift and talented, on board to help out.  I can, with confidence, put a mark by each item in the above list…and, I believe that I can add to it:

beautiful accommodations

healthy, tasty, home-cooked meals

a nurturing of heart and spirit

and lots and lots and lots of beautiful German glass glitter

can it get any better?

Yes! But, it can only get better if YOU decide to join in.  For this first one I am trying to keep the cost as low as I can.  I would like to keep registration to about 10 gals and I already have 3-4 confirmed.  If you tell me that you’re interested then I’ll put you at the top of the list.  A deposit of $100 will confirm you in that spot.

I live about 1 hour and 15 minutes north of Spokane, Washington.

The title of this retreat reflects a slight Bohemian flair ~ for the unconventional, artistic lifestyle that it portrays.  Honestly, I began with the words Tinker & Verve and w/in a short time moved to gypsy ~ bohmenian ~ artisan…found the great picture {that my mother probably disapproves of}, and voila!

I love to play with words.  When I do this I definitely choose the descriptions and meanings that I like best…the ones that work for me ~  🙂

OK…so tell me what you think…leave lots of comments so I don’t feel like I’m a crazy, country girl running with a tangent here.

I’m hoping to have more information soon…i.e. pictures of several different art projects that we will work on, supply list, etc.  Many of the supplies will be provided for you but there will also be a list for you so that each item you make will be uniquely YOU!

To invent, you need a good imagination and a pile of junk.

≈Thomas Edison

January 2, 2010 - Posted by | Art Retreat

14 Comments »

  1. oh my gosh! This sounds awesome Elaine!! I am going to talk to my hubs!! My birthday is later this month…hmmm maybe a gift for my birthday? I will be in touch soon!

    Comment by kristine hanson | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Fun times in April…..!!!

    Comment by Arlene | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. I wish. Hoping your retreat is all you dream of it being!

    oxo

    Comment by Judy | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. if i lived closer, i would be sending a deposit check right now….can’t believe how stinkin fun this sounds…jules

    Comment by jules | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. So this means you are committed, huh? I’ll be thinking about it. Sounds like fun, though.

    Comment by Dolly May | January 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m committed, momma – hoping you’ll jump in as well. We’ll have to start looking up our favorite recipes and work on some new ones! 😉 >

      Comment by Elaine | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  6. Yes you are a crazy country girl!!! But that what makes you sooo WONDERFUL!! I can’t wait!!

    Comment by amberrose | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m so excited for you, sounds like my kinda fun. I also wish I was closer. Hopefully you will take lots of pictures and we can all enjoy your good time!
    I am so proud of you for just jumping in and making this happen!
    JOY!

    Comment by Joy Bayer | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  8. Elaine,
    What a great idea! If I lived closer I would be signing up because I know it will be loads of fun!

    Comment by Alice | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  9. I sure hope I am at the “TOP of the list!”…. cant wait!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  10. The retreat sounds like fun. This one falls on my son’s birthday, but please let me know when you are going to do another. Those MaryJane necklaces are really cute, by the way!

    Comment by Fielding | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  11. Even though I don’t have a creative bone in my body, I follow your blog very closely (this is the first comment I have ever made to a blog). I would love to do something like this (maybe I would find out I have one.small.creative.bone somewhere. Sadly, until I find out how a major project at work is progressing, I would have to put my name as a maybe. Love your blog, love your creativity, love your heart!

    Comment by Rita | January 14, 2010 | Reply

  12. If I only lived closer! I’m in Pennsylvania…just about as far from Spokane as you can get. If you ever consider trying to do one of these retreats in PA or VA, please write to me ASAP!!!

    Comment by Linda | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  13. When is the next art retreat? Is there one in Washington State in November 2010? Will it be using oils, water colors, pastels or what media? Let me know.

    thanks!

    Comment by Libby | October 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment