Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Better than flowers…

One of my favorite things about making charms is knowing that I can be a part of preserving and sharing family memories and history.

I wanted to include the original picture because it didn’t come out very clear in my photo of the charm.  This is such a beautiful picture and it says so much.

Marie’s grandfather is leaving on a train for the Korean War.  He has a  loving wife and three beautiful little girls…and one on the way.

Saying Goodbye!

I also did a Christmas ornament for her.

I’m wishing I had worked a little harder on my pictures here.  Winter’s light is not always good to me…

Speaking of Christmas ornaments…

Before Christmas I was able to get an ornament and a charm out to a friend.

She had been in the hospital and her family asked that no flowers be sent.  It doesn’t sound like too many people ‘listened’ to that request but it encouraged me to think about what else I could do for her.

With my mom’s resent visit{s} to the hospital I knew that although flowers are nice they are SO expensive and it’s hard when you are trying to recover from a serious illness/surgery to lay there and watch your beautiful flowers die.

I’m just being real here…

Is it possible that we send flowers to make ourselves feel better?

My mom had one gal show up with two quilting magazines {knowing my mom loves quilting} and a crossword puzzle book.  very thoughtful

I was thankful that Amber~Tres Birds Photography had recently done a photo shoot with this family so, with her permission, I grabbed a few pictures and went to work.  My dear friend has some challenging months ahead of her and she mentioned that she would be wearing her charm everyday as she walks through this journey.

Better than flowers?   I think so!

January 14, 2011 - Posted by | custom charms, friends, gift, soldered charms

3 Comments »

  1. agreed! the charms are much better then flowers!!

    Comment by kristine hanson | January 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Oh, I do love this post:) Brought a little tear to my eye, you really are pretty awesome you know!

    Comment by amberrose | January 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. Oh Elaine as always you do a great job. I love them all. I had one of mine on tonight and someone make a comment how cute. Asked me if I did it? I would loved to have said SURE DID, but I said no. I was glad to see the man made it back home from the war. You have no idea how special these charms are to all of us. Thanks you for your blog of which I read daily and all your many talents.

    Comment by Pat | January 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

