Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

wholesome and fresh ground…

For years I have threatened my family that we were going to completely do away with white flour and white sugar.  Even more than saying it out loud, I would tell myself that this was a change that we needed in our home.  One problem…

♥ I love to cook yummy things.

♥ I love to please people with my cooking.

♥ I love to hear them make joyful little expressions of pleasure as they eat my food.

I hate to say this out loud but white flour and white sugar are two of the main ingredients in pleasurable foods.

Last week I ran out of white flour…Oh! My Goodness!….that NEVER happens around here.  We buy it in 25 lb. bags and we always have an extra one {or three} on the shelf.  I immediately told myself….”OK, that’s it, no more white flour”. I decided to try to go a month without buying any.

I’ve been grinding wheat for close to 20 years and I have plenty of grain and plenty of variety.

{hard white ~ for yeast breads, soft white ~ for baked goods, rye ~ for bread, durum ~ for pasta…}

I’ll tell you, to have success when cooking with whole wheat you need to grind your own.  It’s fresh, light and bakes up so nice.  There is no reason to have a hard, heavy loaf of bread.  If you are interested in any tips with using ww I would be glad to answer any questions.  I’ll always start any advice with, “if you want to be serious about it, invest in a grinder…”

One of my girls shared this video with me this week and it has tickled my happy spot multiple times.  It reminded her of me!

we had a blustery~blizzard here a bit ago...

November 14, 2011 - Posted by | healthy living, Hobby~Farm Home life, in the kitchen

1 Comment »

  1. That video was so funny! I actually grew one of those mushrooms years ago! Thanks for posting it.
    Rhoda

    Comment by Rhoda King | December 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

