Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Finding joy in hidden places…

Mr. T and I have a favorite ‘thing’ that we do.  It’s probably the closest thing to date night that we manage to slip in on a regular basis.

It looks a little like this.

We head out, generally in the late morning, to our  little town to the North.  He drops me off at Goodwill while he visits the shops that he prefers.  I shop Goodwill then I take a little hike several blocks down to my next little ‘stop’.  Sometimes he joins me there and we shop together.  There are a couple of other spots where we visit on our way up to town or on our way back.  I generally fill up my side of the car and he generally doesn’t fill up his side.

At times I fill up my side, his side and the back.  You just never know what kind of a day it will be!  🙂

On our last visit I picked up this perfectly~red suitcase.  As I was walking down Main Street {red suitcase in hand} I had an extra few minutes so I stopped for a quick visit to our wonderful, little-town shoe store {you know, the kind where they actually help you by measuring your foot, trying on shoes, [taking all your money], etc…?…and they carry some of the best brands}.  As I walked through the doors {red suitcase in hand} there were about three sales-gals who nearly gasped because they loved my little red suitcase and would also love to be seen walking down Main Street with one.  My heart smiled just a little.  🙂

Isn’t it wonderful when we can connect with like-minded gals?  This was just a short~yet~sweet reminder of how, even if just for a few moments we can find encouragement and friendship in hidden places…we need only open our eyes and our hearts to it.  This actually led into another moment shared with two of the gals who had, on occasion, taken opportunities to encourage and speak into the life of one of my girls….as I left {red suitcase in hand} my eyes were brimming with tears and my heart was full.

There is another little joy hidden within the case of this lovely red suitcase, a satiny liner with shiny, yet subtle polka dots!  [smile, sigh….]

I wasn’t even planning on keeping this little number but my own post makes me want to!

i’m hopeless

November 10, 2011 - Posted by | just plain fun, vintage

12 Comments »

  1. You ARE hopeless:)

    Comment by amberrose | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. I absolutely LOVE it!! You’re a lucky gal!
    Jaci

    Comment by Jaci Nash | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. What a great find. John and I often take rides like this too. Which town are you speaking about? You make me smile and I shared this with John.

    Comment by Sheila Mulkin | November 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Colville. I ‘just’ finished making a cute little clutch like the one you gave me. SO much fun! I’ll do a post about it…someday! 🙂 Thanks for sharing…

      Comment by Elaine | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  4. I just love you! I agree you must keep the red suitcase! After reading this post I too want a {sweet} red suitcase!

    Comment by Michele Craft | November 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Well…if I don’t convince myself to keep it, it just might be for sale and that sweet, little Christmas show @ Moran Prairie Grange! 🙂

      Comment by Elaine | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  5. Love that sweet little suitcase. You can send it to me anytime. Isn’t it wonderful how one little item can bring so many warm and wonderful people together. Boo Hoo, Moran Prairie Grange is a little too far for a day trip! I’m sure there will be great finds there.

    Comment by junebug | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  6. Loved your post. . . . . why don’t I ever find exciting things? Guess I don’t spend as much tome looking . . . could that be it?

    Comment by Dolly May | November 10, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m pretty sure that’s it plus I look at things differently than you. {surprise, surprise} In fact, that little sale at the bottom of our hill that you said didn’t have anything…I went the following week and literally loaded up our car…in fact, it was the same day that I found this little suitcase. 🙂

      btw…the reason that I might not keep this little cutie is because it’s so much like the one I have of Grandma’s…

      Comment by Elaine | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  7. Hey Elaine! – You should keep the little red suitcase. Your heart will tell you when the time is right to part with it.

    Comment by Mary in Hackberry | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  8. Sweetest ever… Thank you for sharing 😉

    Deb @ Garden Party

    Comment by Debi | November 13, 2011 | Reply

  9. My sweet mother had the set of three of those darling red Samsonite suitcases! I always loved the lining too! :o)
    Great find!

    Comment by rixgal | November 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

