Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

As the seasons change….

This has been my trusty Market Shopper.  It’s accompanied me to our local farmer’s market and a variety of other happenings lately.

I think that this Friday will be the last Market of the season.

I generally have mixed emotions as each season comes to an end.  I know for some it seems like summer ended a while back but I’ve still been hanging on to remnants of it.  We did have a pretty good freeze this week {30°} so that helps me to make the official transition to fall…which makes me long for a hard, cold, snowy winter!

My own garden/orchard is winding down too but I still have [some] apples and pears and lots of potatoes, carrots, tomatoes and [hopefully] some tomatillos [just waiting for them to do their thing…I’ve been told that you know they’re ready when they drop off the vine…if they don’t freeze first].

I really love pear.

I don’t find it as versatile for my family as apple but I still love it.

It’s a beautiful fruit!

I made this Pear Custard Pie this week.  Oh, so Yummy!…and it just got better on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th day!  Next time I would make it a day ahead.

The goats and chickens are benefiting from the garden clean-up!

October 10, 2011 - Posted by | garden, goats, healthy living, home life, in the kitchen, market shopper, my neck of the woods!, news from home

2 Comments »

  1. Yum, that recipe sounds wonderful. Yes, Fall is hear but we haven’t had freezing temps – yet! Love the pink crumble bag. Mind always seem to be blue or brown. Enjoy the week!

    Comment by junebug | October 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. Pears… YUM! If you have a dehydrator you can peel the nicely ripe pears, scoop out a little extra of the seed area, dip them in a light honey/water dip and then plop a large spoonful of crushed pineapple in the hole. Dry till the pear feels “like the ear lobe”…not crispy and not mushy in the middle! I love those for Christmas! Thanks for all you share… I work away from home for months at a time and yearn for the time when I can have my milk goat and garden year ’round. You fill my gaps in!

    Comment by Lizzy Bean | October 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

