Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

only the freshest….

Ice cream has forever been a favorite.

Mr T and I have discovered a new love for it though over the summer.

fresh milk

fresh eggs

and now… fresh vanilla bean

I was gifted this week two handfuls {46} of vanilla beans, fresh from Indonesia.

I have never, not once, worked with vanilla bean and have felt like I was surely missing out on a pleasurable experience.  When I see them in the store, I’m not willing to break down and pay the price.  I found some through Amazon that have been sitting in my cart for quite some time, waiting for the whim to click the button and just do it….splurge!

Now I can eliminate that item from my over-crowded cart and enjoy the abundance in my possession.

I fear that my closest friends and family are going to remind me of how special I am to them and they are to me and coerce me to share….I’ll just remind them that I love to make ice cream and I will make it for them any time!  {i.will.share.some.things}

My sister-in-law Nichole, shared a wonderful recipe with me for Vanilla Peach Syrup.  At the time, we were picking huckleberries so she tried substituting 1 cup of huckleberries for 1 cup of the peaches and then I did the same.

Oh, my! and Oh, YUM!

I think that this syrup will be good on almost anything.  You can find the recipe HERE.

September 21, 2011 - Posted by | in the kitchen

3 Comments »

  1. YUM!!!

    Comment by amberrose | September 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. It’s really good….and I’m an expert when it comes to ice cream & toppings!

    Comment by mr T | September 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. Elaine, just thinking about last years rettreat thank you it was the best time ever wish we were doing it again! Hope next year ! You have space for some solder flunkies??? we miss ya!
    Love
    Susanne

    Comment by Susanne Griffith | September 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

