Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Summer Grandeur…

“All in all, it was a never-to-be-forgotten summer — one of those summers which come seldom into any life, but leave a rich heritage of beautiful memories in their going — one of those summers which, in a fortunate combination of delightful weather, delightful friends and delightful doing, come as near to perfection as anything can come in this world.”
— L.M. Montgomery

This has been a favorite summer for me!

I’m going to guess that it has much to do with that ‘gentle’ process of aging that none of us can avoid.

I believe that I have learned to enjoy the simple joys and pleasures in life more than ever.  And, because we were able to move to this beautiful country setting 3½ years ago, it has allowed for a more restful, less hectic life {which I fully embrace}.

I’ve made a quiet resolve with myself to keep it that way!   […so far, so good]

Another one of life’s simple pleasures that I cannot ignore is the power within a seed.

It amazes me each and every year.

And, it causes me to be impressed with myself {that’s always fun}.

Most of my garden is the result of seeds that I put in dirt…with my own little hands.

Many of my herbs I purchased but most everything else came up from seed: corn, green beans, peas, carrots, kale, lettuce, spinach, beets, tomatoes, potatoes, cucumbers, flowers.  Plus, we have a nice variety of things that come back each year: raspberries, strawberries, asparagus, horseradish and a small orchard with apples, plums, pear…

With fresh local lamb and beef filling our freezers plus the abundance of fish that we caught in Alaskan waters…oh, ya…and that fresh goat’s milk…we have been eating so well {too well}.  Everything is fresh and yummy…not to mention, oh, so healthy!

All of this makes summer so busy and so wonderful in a very worthwhile and fulfilling sort of way.

I have a few sunflowers that are nearly twice my height…

Do you remember the chickens {Silkies} I had in my booth at the Farm Chicks sale? 

Because the little one {the black one} was so little I didn’t want to put them in with the other chickens so I just let them have free-range of my garden.  I wasn’t sure how that would work.  I told them that if they got into my strawberries then they would have to leave.   They have done great.  They just kind of hang out in the potato patch.  I brought home a rooster for them recently and they literally are all inseparable.

Poppy, Nel and Papa Jack

I still haven’t forgotten that there is a give-a-way…go over HERE and sign-up…I’ll draw a name in a couple of days.

August 29, 2011 - Posted by | farm animals, garden, healthy living, home life, in the kitchen, sustainable living

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for sharing about your garden and your canning and using the abundance of the veggie season. I have had to let my large garden go for a year or two due to the long work hours of getting our u-pick farm up and running. Larelle has managed to find time to get a few things in the ground and we’ve enjoyed a few fresh beans and are just getting zucchini. Hopefully tomatoes and peppers soon. But, I mostly miss fresh lettuce and putting up the veggies for winter eating. We still grow and preserve plenty of our fresh fruits and eat our own meat, but I do miss digging in the garden, eating fresh dug carrots and fresh picked corn…and the slower summer pace that allows for savoring all these things. So, I’ve enjoyed yours! Thanks…it does refresh me just a bit. Julie

    Comment by Julie, berry farm girl | August 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Julie – there really isn’t anything quite like it! 🙂

      Comment by Elaine | August 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

