Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Fishing in Alaska….

It’s time for me to back up a couple of weeks.

When we returned home from our trip to Alaska I had the {amazingly♥wonderful} workshop/picnic event to ‘pull off’, my garden was in dire need of work and my raspberries we coming on strong.  I wish I would have kept track this year of how many gallons that we’ve picked but it’s somewhere between 20 & 30.

…but, I still want to show you some of the fun that we had in Alaska.

I mentioned in an earlier post that my parent’s have a place there where they spend their summers.  Mr. T goes up each year to fish but with a long list of great reasons {mostly having to do with the kids}, it’s been about 4 years since I’ve made the trip with him.  So, this was the year!

It was a beautiful, relaxing trip and my mom is the best cook ever so we not only came home with 200 lbs. of salmon and halibut but I personally brought home about three pounds.

wouldn’t it be horrible if we had to pay extra for a return flight if we managed to gain weight during our travels?   the financial restrictions are getting tighter and tighter…just might happen some day!  🙂

This the first year that I’ve fished and it turns out that I’m not too bad with a halibut pole.  I reeled in about 9.

Jelly fish – watch out for these buggers…they get tangled up in your line…if you touch the slime with your hands or it gets slung in your eye…OUCH!

pulling up a halibut

a neighbor of my parent’s was fishing in the same ‘hole’

our little boat coming back in for a long day out

not all of these were mine but ‘most’ of them were!  

my parent’s have a great room for doing the final cleaning and packaging of the fish

I was able to can some cod

We had a great time…Thanks Mom and Dad for sharing your AK lives with us!  🙂

August 11, 2011 - Posted by | fishing in Alaska, sustainable living

2 Comments »

  1. I love this, Elaine! Colin didn’t go fishing in Alaska this year and I’m so sad that my freezer won’t be full of salmon and halibut as usual. Glad to hear yours will be! Makes me miss Alaska.

    Comment by thefarmchicks | August 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. How fun! Your catch is impressive. Love all your pictures. It looks like such a beautiful place to be!
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | September 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

