Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Serendipity…

ser·en·dip·i·ty noun \ˌser-ən-ˈdi-pə-tē\

: the gift of finding valuable or agreeable things not looked for

Six mornings out of the week I meet up with a friend and together we walk 4 miles.

Living in the country offers so much beauty and on these walks we are able to drink deeply that beauty that surrounds us…daily…year ’round. We’ve seen moose and elk and each day we see deer and scenery that is breath-taking. This time of year it’s fun to keep a watch out for fawn…the sight I never tire of.

This morning we heard an earnest, desperate cry coming from a deep ditch. I climbed down and found this cute little kitten cowering at the bottom. I could tell that he had somehow been injured but it didn’t seem too severe.

I brought him home, warmed up some fresh goat’s milk and he ate and ate and ate and ate.

Now he is sleeping so soundly that nothing stirs him.

Although I don’t plan on keeping him, I’ve named him Serendipity as he was an accidental discovery.

This picture shows that he has a fairly severe mouth injury but he eats well, purrs well and sleeps well and I know that’s a good sign.

{that kind of has a ring to it…could I sell a sign that saysEat Well * Purr Well * Sleep Well…probably not}

My concern will be to watch out for infection as it heals. If anyone has any suggestions {besides the veterinary clinic} I would love to hear them.

July 13, 2011 - Posted by | life, my neck of the woods!, pets

4 Comments »

  1. He looked better last night. You did for him what Jesus does for us . . . Rescues us from a deep, dark ditch!

    Comment by Dolly May | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Oh…. what a sweetie…. BOTH you Elaine and Serendipity! I hope he is with you in a couple of weeks – can’t wait to meet him at the art class! :)

    And I just picked up my supplies today! SO EXCITED!

    Comment by Amber | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. What a cutie..just read your post this am. You might know this but with small kittens, it’s important that they go to the bathroom. Momma cat usually induces this by licking, but you can help things along with cleaning/rubbing his little butt with a warm soft cloth after he eats.

    Comment by susie | July 16, 2011 | Reply

  4. Thanks for picking him up. One night driving home from work, someone had just dropped a mother cat and 7 kittens about that size. All I was worried about was getting them out of the highway. People here are so mean to animals. I have so many rescue animals I am ashamed to tell people. You have a good heart.

    Comment by PAT | July 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

