Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Drink Green!

Up until now, my garden has been providing pleasure mostly just for my ‘visual’ senses. 

It also has given me an excuse to soak in a lot of Vitamin D. 

Oh, my ~ how that feels so nice. 

Although our spring was so rainy and cool, we have now had about 3 solid weeks of sunshine.  Today our early morning temperature was 52º ~ oh, how I’ve been waiting with anticipation for it move into the 50’s.

This morning I picked one of my rows of spinach so I can get another re~planted.

Have you ever added spinach to a fruit smoothie?

If you haven’t ever tried it then you would be surprised that it blends in so nice without adding much to the flavor.  I just throw in a handful and it’s always the perfect amount.  It gives an amazing healthy punch to this already nutritious drink.  I make mine with yogurt that I’ve made from my own milk, fresh fruit {preferably that I’ve frozen} and I like to add a little stinging nettle if I have it on hand.  {remember THIS POST?  I was able to dry some for tea and freeze some in ice cube trays to add to drinks….YUM!}

I know, I know….I’m used to having people think I’m crazy but I’ll say that I feel better than I think I’ve ever felt! 

{so there!!!} 

🙂

July 7, 2011 - Posted by | garden, healthy living, in the kitchen, my neck of the woods!

4 Comments »

  1. Looks great Elaine.

    Comment by Heather | Farmgirl Gourmet | July 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. I LOVE your lifestyle…I have been called “crazy” myself a time or two… BUT….it works! I drink “green drinks” too and yep… better than the spendy pills and I feel GREAT. Thanks for all you do to make us all so happy!

    Comment by Lizzy | July 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. oh yay, I’m on!! I have missed you my lovely!! have not been able to comment on your blog for ages, silly blogger – all fixed now thanks to Google Chrome!

    You look like you are having a blast Elaine! and doing what you love to do so that makes me very happy! The garden looks amazing, the grandbug looks amazing, and YOU look amazing!
    Big hugs to you!
    Jen xoxoxoxoxo

    Comment by Jenny Teune | July 13, 2011 | Reply

    • So nice to hear from you…it’s been SO LONG! Thanks for coming back for a visit. I’m glad that you got everything fixed back up. 🙂 blessings to you

      Comment by Elaine | July 13, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

