Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

A little hard work…

If hard work ‘never hurt no one’ then why does my back ache?

I love having a blog especially when I have fun things going on around here.

The past couple of weeks there has been a lot going on but not so much the blog-worthy-type of stuff…

I’ve been putting off stripping the wallpaper out of a bathroom for about 3 years because I didn’t think that it would be a very fun job.  Well, in case you’ve never personally stripped wallpaper I will indeed verify that it isn’t fun.

I try to keep my life at a ‘fun’ {there’s that word again} pace.

Sometimes that doesn’t leave an adequate amount of time for the things that some would consider ‘more important’.  🙂 {i.e. house work, yard work, stripping wallpaper, etc…}  But, I also like doing things that make me feel good…that are rewarding…and some of this does involve hard work.

So, I shall put a bit of a re-do on that bathroom {rewarding} ~ I’m washing the logs inside my house {rewarding} ~ then I’ll wash the windows {rewarding!!!}  and as I’ve been working at getting my yard raked of it’s winter debris a little bit at a time, that too, is very rewarding.

My dad came over this morning and put me to work in my garden.  He and Mr. T got the orchard all trimmed up last week and my dad got the raspberries in tip-top shape.  So today we burned all the trimmings and worked on other areas…once again, rewarding!

It was interesting to watch him graft an apple tree.  We have a favorite apple tree that does well here so hopefully with his know-how and a little bees wax we can get another one going.  Wow!  This is a very affordable way to get an apple tree.

fyi…Mr.T and I live on the place that my parent’s built 28 years ago.  We moved here 3 years ago at a time when they were ready to down-size.  My dad has babied the orchard and raspberries {as well as other things} for all these years so it’s nice to have him come and help out when he has time.  I always enjoy spending time with that guy!

April 1, 2011 - Posted by | garden, home life

13 Comments »

  1. I absolutely loved this post. I too, am out in the garden area, clipping raspberry canes that broke and removing suckers on an old dwarf yellow delicious I didn’t get to last fall. Looking at your Dad bent over grafting reminded me of my own Dad who passed away on his Chewelah farm in 1984. Your pictures reminded me of good times with a tear.

    Comment by Claudia Ramsey | April 1, 2011 | Reply

    • your words are so sweet…Although these are some of my favorite days, I thought this was going to be a boring post for people to read. 😉 Have we talked about your Chewelah connection??? I can’t remember.

      Comment by Elaine | April 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. I enjoy spending time with that guy, too. He’s handy to have around. There really is a joy in having things all cleaned up, inside & out, but it really is hard work. After being so sick a few months ago, I’m very thankful to be able to work again. I don’t have to, I GET to.

    Comment by Dolly May | April 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes…it would do us all good to keep in mind that we GET to WORK! Thanks for your help today too! 😉

      Comment by Elaine | April 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. I was touched by the photos and your story. He’s somebody special and his companion too…

    Comment by Rella | April 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. I too enjoyed this blog entry. I feel the same way about keeping things fun around my house. I just bought a “pretty princess” scrubber to wash dishes with. My 2 1/2 year old likes to help when we get that out. I am personally really looking forward to starting a garden from scratch. I am missing my Chewelah garden. I had an awesome herb garden right outside my kitchen door. I miss it! I have a lot of work ahead of me this spring, before planting can start. Thanks for your inspiration through your blog. i don’t always post comments, but I am a faithful reader!!!

    Comment by rosie | April 1, 2011 | Reply

  5. Dads are precious! Cherish those special times!
    Exciting progress!
    Stripping wall paper – NO FUN AT ALL! That’s when you find a good friend or two or more and make it a fun party!

    Comment by Ronnie | April 1, 2011 | Reply

    • I like your idea of making a party out of it. That wouldn’t have worked in the b.room because of the size but I have more to do…. {ya wanna come over? we’ll have a party!} 🙂

      Comment by Elaine | April 2, 2011 | Reply

      • Sorry, I only do small bathrooms. 😉
        Didn’t I say “close” friend? (back peddling here) I barely know you. 🙂
        I’m sure it’s a great way to get to know someone… Did I mention stripping wallpaper is NO FUN?!
        what excuses can I think of… Hmmm… Sounds like fun. Can we listen to music? 🙂

        Comment by Ronnie | April 2, 2011 | Reply

        • we’ll just stick with the ‘it’s a great way to get to know some one’! 🙂

          Comment by Elaine | April 2, 2011

  6. It sounds like you have been pretty busy. I love doing anything that takes me outside. You better get that wallpaper stripped before the baby arrives, or who knows how many more years it will take. The good side of that is, if you wait long enough, it will come back in fashion. So don’t strip it, you’ll be ahead of the game 🙂

    Comment by Elaine Hicks | April 2, 2011 | Reply

    • The good news is that I did finish stripping it that day and today a friend came and textured the walls so now I can paint! 😉 yay!

      Comment by Elaine | April 2, 2011 | Reply

  7. What a wonderful Dad! I recently lost mine and still find myself reaching for the phone to ask his advice. He should write on your blog showing us how to graft!

    Comment by Patti | April 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

