Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Memories of Love

I’ve had this idea rolling around for a couple of weeks…to make a heart out of pictures of couples.

My first thought was to use all vintage pictures…both relatives and unknowns.  I quickly switched to ‘knowns’.  I love anything that celebrates love and marriage and COMMITMENT!  I am blessed that I have had that word ‘commitment‘ modeled within my family.

Each couple represented {all related except for one} has an understanding of what that word really means.

I was hoping to include more pictures of my ‘greats’ and some more of Mr T’s family but I knew if I didn’t just work with what I had it wouldn’t get done.  It was a bit of work as it is.

I had an old window that I wanted to put them behind {thus the difficulty with photographing} so I worked with that measurement and came up with a size {2.188 x 3.5} that each picture needed to be.  It took 52 pictures. I cheated a little and used vintage Valentines for two spots.

I love going through our old photos.  I have this chronic smile on my face as I slip through each memory.  This is the ‘earliest’ photo I have of Mr T and I.

We were sitting on a dock on Lake Washington which overlooked Seattle.

i still have that sweatshirt

January 21, 2011 - Posted by | art, family

8 Comments »

  1. VERY NICE! I REALLY LIKE IT. I see we are in there several times, and yes, we are very committed to love, to each other and to our marriage. Love you, sweet daughter.

    Comment by Dolly May | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. How beautiful, fun & inspiring!
    Commitment ~ what a beautiful word!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by Ronnie | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. I was thinking that the sweet little footprint (ultrasound) would fit perfectly!
    There will be footprints on the heart! 🙂

    Comment by Ronnie | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. You are so very inspiring! I loved your heart shaped collage, especially the stories behind them all.

    Comment by Elaine Hicks | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  5. Girl you are so FULLLLL of creative ideas! My mom was just telling me of all the vintage pics she has – you are giving me ideas!!!! Thanks Elaine!!!

    Comment by Elizabeth | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  6. Oh my sweet friend…there is just no limit to your amazing creativity and the world is a better place for it! This is just beautiful and I am honored that Don & I are included in this tribute to love collage! Did I mention, YOU ARE AMAZING! Love you much! ~Jodi

    Comment by Jodi Detrick | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  7. I love it, cute… is it between two pieces of glass.

    Comment by pat | January 22, 2011 | Reply

    • No, Pat, I just put it behind an old window that I had. Thanks!

      Comment by Elaine | January 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

