Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Sweet Treats for Eggs:~

I neglected to show pictures from the day we decorated our gingerbread houses.

I was frustrated with how all of my pictures turned out and life just kept moving at such a quick pace…I felt like as the days progressed I was just ‘keeping up’   …{barely}!

So, what to do with the The House of Gingerbread after Christmas?

Give it to the chickens, of course!

We have so much snow that they have just been ‘cooped up’ for weeks.

They may not make it outside again until spring with the way this winter is going…

They haven’t seemed to mind too much and they are still giving me a few eggs a day so I’ll share some of my sweet treats with them.

January 4, 2011 - Posted by | chickens

5 Comments »

  1. I think you must be the BEST AUNT in the world. I think these are your sisters kids?? Anyway I sure would not have the patience to do what you do. And you know what…they will remember this forever. How special that is!! IF only we all would do that what a difference in a childs life that would be. Chickens look happy as well.

    Comment by PAT | January 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Pat! yes, they’re my nieces {brother’s girls}. I have always been a kid-lover but as the years go on I’m mostly attracted to sweet {nice, happy, good, appreciative} ones! 😉 ..and these girls fit that perfectly….very fun girls! Because my own kids are grown-up {mostly} it’s a fun time for me to be involved in these girl’s lives. I’m trying to start planning their Valentine’s Tea~party now. 😉 Take care of yourself and enjoy this new year…

      Comment by Elaine | January 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. I agree with Pat, and as their Grandma, I appreciate what you do for them so much. I told them that with your own grandbaby coming things may change & they looked very sad. They love you a lot! (and so do I)

    Comment by Dolly May | January 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. I’ve already told Elaine that this is going to have to become a annual thing. It WAS so much fun. I think I may have had just as much fun as my girls. 🙂

    Comment by Nichole | January 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I agree, Nichole. We do need to do it again…I should probably use the ‘hot glue’ idea next year though…

      Comment by Elaine | January 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

