Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Silent and Bright

As of yesterday morning, all of our kids left…everything that remained was still and quiet.

I watched a Jane Eyre movie and then picked up a copy of Jane Eyre {2nd Edition/1847} from my book shelf and started reading it….enjoying the stillness.

This morning with the temperature hovering at -4°, even the ice-cycles have ceased their steady drip.

The scenery here is stunning…perfectly stunning.  It calms my heart and makes me want to not go anywhere {ever again!}.  😉

The chickens are staying warm with an extra heat lamp.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been so very thankful that we insulated their little house.

Although New Year’s Eve doesn’t often lend itself to quietness, I hope that this day which preludes a brand new year will fill your heart with Peace!

December 31, 2010 - Posted by | home life, my neck of the woods!

7 Comments »

  1. Wishing you a new year filled with joy, peace and love!!

    And I love Jane Eyre!

    Teresa
    xo

    Comment by Teresa Sheeley | December 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Teresa – wishing you all the same {I like all those words} 😉

      Comment by Elaine | December 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. Two of my children left for their home in NYC early this morning after a very fun two week visit. I am missing them like crazy. But I do cherish the peace, and the time to reflect in an empty house. I really enjoy seeing your home in all of its’ winter wonderland beauty! Many wishes for health and happiness.

    Comment by Beth Evans-Ramos | December 31, 2010 | Reply

  3. Happy New Year! Your house looks so beautiful! Becky

    Comment by Becky Ellis | December 31, 2010 | Reply

  4. Happy New Year. I think I would just look out the window if I were you. It is a beautiful view.

    Comment by PAT | December 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Yes…indeed that is tempting. Thank you so much for the beautiful Christmas card you sent my way. That line of cards is definitely a favorite of mine. New Year blessings to YOU, Pat! Elaine

      Comment by Elaine | December 31, 2010 | Reply

  5. I miss you!!! I’m about to start work right now. It’s quite bright here, but nothing is ever silent at Starbucks 😉

    (Also, it’s second Edition, not addition. Sorry, couldn’t help myself!)

    Comment by Lauren | January 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

