Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Ready?…or Not?

I can’t say the I feel ready but it’s happening.

I’m moving my #3 child out of the house and getting her settled in Seattle right now.

After spending almost half my life being a full-time mom my life will be slipping into something…different!

I refuse to call it ‘empty nest‘.  When I return home it will be anything but empty.  My home is so full of our kids and the daily{ness} of our 24 years of being parents.  One of my goals throughout these years was to have a home that our kids would ALWAYS want to come home to {do you hear that, kids?}.  And I think that we’ve accomplished just that.  One of our biggest joys right now is to be together…I appreciate every moment.

My parting tomorrow could be one of emotional proportion but I think I’ll hold it together {at least until I get in my car and start crossing over the 520 Bridge to head east}. I’ll have 5 hours to think about how quickly this all happened.  I’ll certainly think about the sadness but I’ll also be overwhelmed {once again} about God’s goodness and faithfulness in our lives.  I love how He leads and directs.

Then I’ll dream about the future and listen to whatever kind of music that I want to listen to!!!

September 2, 2010 - Posted by | family, life

5 Comments »

  1. I can soo relate to you.
    We have two in and two out and yes it leads to a different way of life.
    Have a safe trip listening to your tunes.
    Blessings~
    (You look too young to have grown youngun’s already)

    Comment by sharron | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. You’ll be on my heart and in my prayers tomorrow. I love you sister.

    Comment by arleneweaver | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. Elaine, you are such an inspiration to me. My oldest is turning 16 next month, and I am already feeling the “baby’s all grown up” moments… It is such a blessing to read about your transitions and relationships with your kids as your family changes and grows. I am the oldest in my family, so I hope you don’t mind that I gather a little “big sister” insight from your postings. 🙂

    Comment by Kimie Beeching | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. It was so fun to see you tonight. I love the pictures! It brings back a lot of fun memories. Love you lots, and I will be thinking about you tomorrow too.

    Comment by Becky Panesko | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. Oh, Elaine, seems only yesterday I was walking down this path. It’s all so good, the entire journey of rolling hills, twists and turns, mountain peaks and valleys. You have savored every moment and that’s what makes it all so sweet. I love how you love life, girl, and share it all with the world! You are one amazing gift to us! I thank God for you! Love you!

    Comment by Lynda | September 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

