Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

it makes me happy!

My girl, MissLiz, made this sign for us in a shop class at her high school…not this past school year but the one before.   It has completely annoyed her that it sits propped up next to our rock fireplace…month after month, year after year….

I knew where I wanted it to go but I wanted it done right and it…well, just kept sitting in the same place…getting dusty = one annoyed teen.

We hosted a couple of Steve’s this week in one of our cabins.  They were working/volunteering each day at our church, helping with some construction that we have going on.  My job, during this time, was to feed them a ‘hearty’ breakfast and dinner {I love to feed people}.  🙂 They had seen my ‘sign’ and I mentioned how I was hopeful that some day it would be hanging out front.  The next day, after working a long, hard day, they went and bought the lumber, mixed the concrete, had out the level and by dinner time that sign was ready to hang.

I’m hopeful to get a little roof over it before winter to help protect it but it’s so sweet to see it each time I drive up my driveway.  We love it.  Thanks Steve and Steve!

In the second picture you can see how the sign is swinging.  We had such a windy day with a few forest fires not too far away.  The air became heavy with smoke but it made for a beautiful sunset that evening.

August 28, 2010 - Posted by | my neck of the woods!

7 Comments »

  1. Wow, did that teen ever do a great job! I’m sure she is one happy camper now that it is swinging in the breeze. Let’s hope those forest fires stay far away!!! Have a great weekend!

    Comment by junebug | August 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. Aaahhhh!! It’s gorgeous Elaine! What a fabulous job she did on it, and it looks sooooo good hanging in your garden, although I can imagine it looked quite lovely sitting next to your rock fireplace… I imagine anything would look good next to a rock fireplace ;)!!! Have a great weekend my sweet friend!
    Big hugs from downunder!
    Jen xo

    Comment by Jen | August 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. Very nice!!! Nice looking sign, nice cook…nice guys and nice scenery 🙂

    Comment by Teri Carlson | August 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. Yay!! It’s finally up!

    Comment by amberrose | August 30, 2010 | Reply

  5. Your daughter did an outstanding job. It is beautiful!!!

    Comment by Ellen | August 30, 2010 | Reply

  6. Love the sign, and the whole idea that your daughter made it in shop class! I’m from the dinosaur days when girls weren’t allowed to take shop. The glimpses of where you live look gorgeous.

    Comment by Beth Evans-Ramos | August 30, 2010 | Reply

  7. A special sign now that it is in its correct place!! Everyone is happy. She did a great job and it will bring many smiles to your face everytime you see it.

    Comment by PAT | August 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

