Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Vintage{y} Cuff…

We have a family wedding this weekend and my daughter said she was going to ask Trish to make her one of her fun, fun cuffs.  Well I asked her if I could {try to} make one for her instead.

sorry Trish but I know that you wouldn’t make much $ off of my girl because I’m thinking that you wouldn’t even take $ from her…

Last night I sat down and had fun with all of the hand-work that’s involved in making one of these.  It is so relaxing to me…to create something beautiful with my hands.

I used mostly vintage things to make it.

Now I want to make one for me…

I have made one other cuff and I posted about it here….

August 10, 2010 - Posted by | sewing, vintage

5 Comments »

  1. Okay Elaine I hate to sound dumb – but how do you wear this cuff? It’s adorable. Love stuff like this and vintage is always great. Do you have any tips on looking at items/or rules of thumb when looking for vintage items? Thanks for sharing

    Comment by Elizabeth | August 10, 2010 | Reply

    • You wear it as a bracelet. It needs to fit well so I may need to even move the button when my daughter tries it on. When it comes to buying vintage textile and sewing items, I am a hoarder…{did I just say that?}…I buy anything and everything that catches my eye AND is affordable {I’m cheap!!!}. I do that so that when I want to assemble something, like this cuff or my aprons, etc, I have a VARIETY of items to work with. Variety is the key for me. Sometimes I feel like it takes me as long to put the elements together as it does to actually make the item. That’s a bit of an exaggeration but it does take me a bit of time. I really enjoy the process though. Each creation generally starts with one item that gives me inspiration. For this cuff it was actually the lace edge that I cut off of a beautiful, old monogrammed, linen towel. Hope this helps…feel free to ask questions ANY time!

      Comment by Elaine | August 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. so lovely.. i have been wanting to try my hand at these..maybe now i will….hope to see wedding pics too…

    Comment by sharron | August 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. Your cuff is beautiful. I really love that the wrist band is a section of handmade lace. The button closure is also very charming.

    Comment by Beth Evans-Ramos | August 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. lovely!

    Comment by kristine hanson | August 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

