Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Amazing!

One of my favorite things about picking huckleberries is the breath-taking beauty that comes with it.

It makes my heart leap at the awesomeness of God!

There isn’t anything quick and easy about filling a bucket with berries…especially huckleberries.

I wouldn’t ever go picking by myself so I’m glad that my brother invites me along…course, he always has his two little ones in-tow.  I tell the girls,

“one berry at a time fills the bucket!”

As we were picking I heard little Abby say to herself, “One berry at a time…”

It looks like it will be a challenging year to find many huckleberries but…

…there truly is joy and beauty in the hunt!

August 8, 2010 - Posted by | family, my neck of the woods!

3 Comments »

  1. Gorgeous!! Absolutely gorgeous! I would love to just step into those photos.
    Hugs,
    Jill
    PS: One berry at a time also fills the tummy. 🙂

    Comment by Jill | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Breathtaking…. I don’t know that I’ve ever eaten a huckleberry – I’m not sure if they even grow around here. They look beautiful and delicious. Ahhh, the mountains….

    Comment by Staci | August 11, 2010 | Reply

    • {Our} huckleberries are small and have more flavor than a blueberry…and they are more tart. They grow in the higher elevations. People will sell them around here for $40-$50 a gallon…and they sell out quick. They are fairly hard to come by…if you have a good spot for picking then ‘hush’ is the word. Most people get a little ‘funny’ about where they are picking. Here is a link to the post I wrote last year. There are better pictures of our actual picking. https://tinkerverve.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/phenomena-an-observable-fact-or-event/ Last year we got into some GREAT picking…this year is the opposite. That’s just how it goes with huckleberries: some years they are good and others are bad. The hunt is fun and generally breath-taking. …so there is a little more about h.berries for you, Staci! 😉 > New comment on your post “Amazing!” > Author : Staci (IP: 174.55.236.221 , c-174-55-236-221.hsd1.pa.comcast.net) > E-mail : swickard860@comcast.net > URL : > Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=174.55.236.221

      Comment by Elaine | August 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

