Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

{not so} Carefree, yet Happy!

Saturday on my way home from the west side of our state I followed this car.

Even when I had a chance to pass I felt compelled to just follow them.

Two young gals with blonde pony tails flipping in the breeze…driving down a beautiful Washington road in their red convertible.

I couldn’t help but think of all the things I didn’t do before I took the leap {@19} into marriage and family.  It also made me smile at these care-free girls wishing I had a red convertible where I could let my ponytail flip wildly in the breeze but my smile more honestly expressed how, if I could go back 27 years, I wouldn’t change a thing.  As I grew up I always knew that I only ever wanted to be a wife and mom…seriously ~ that really was all I wanted and it was a goal that I fit into comfortably.  Parenting has been far more challenging than I ever imagined but I still find it my perfect fit.

Love This Life!

p.s.  I really wouldn’t mind having a little red convertible that I could journey down a windy road with my blonde pony and a special girlfriend!

note to self…while driving down the road of happiness, make sure that my camera is out of reach!

≈ ♥ ≈

It’s time to announce the winner of my last give-a-way

Natty left comment #20 comment for the give-a-way and is the winner!  Felicitations to you!  😉

July 26, 2010 - Posted by | just plain fun, life

14 Comments »

  1. Elaine I’m going to take you for a ride in my convertible down a beautiful road! It’s funny how life turns out. Sometimes the grass isn’t greener on the other side. Sometimes it’s painted grass! 😉
    Let’s go for a ride!

    Comment by Timi | July 26, 2010 | Reply

    • sounds grand!…let’s do it! …would be easier if we just lived on the same side but I’m not budging!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Comment by Elaine | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh Elaine, you can go for a ride in my old little VW bug convertible!! It truly does make you feel care free as you drive down the road. But it’s not red and sporty, more like cute and green. Kinda like a Junebug!!!

    Comment by junebug | July 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Sounds wonderful. For as long as I can remember I’ve been drawn to the classic VW bug. Oh, a convertible would be grand!

      Comment by Elaine | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. When I rode around in a convertible it made my hair a mess, and all dried out… Remember, the grass is always greener on the other side, because of the septic tank!!!

    Comment by Ellen | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. LOVE keeping up with your creative life and outlook, Elaine! When you get the convertible I’d love to go for a long drive in it with you… although my hair won’t fit in a ponytail. It’ll just be really wild & crazy when we stop!

    Comment by JoLynn | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. Being a mom must be the most important thing in the world. But that doesn´t make it less fun to ride a convertible car 🙂 I hope you find the right girlfriend for the ride or why not; just bring your husband!!

    Comment by Humlamamman | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. I say that is ME + YOU.
    Because we would look “fabulous” in a convertible.
    Yes…. I am sure of it.

    Comment by La~Te~Da | July 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Indeed we would, Trish! I’m not sure that the world could trust us in a red convertible though…

      Comment by Elaine | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  7. Cute post! Everyone should own a convertible once in their life. It’s so fun! I had just turned 20 when I got married. I wouldn’t go back and change a thing either! I love this life!
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. Just like you I married at 18 and wanted nothing more than to be a wife and mother. 26 years later, older and a bit wiser, I love my life. My bff has a convertible and is coming to visit this weekend, so we’ll be doing some cruising ourselves!
    Fun, fun post, Elaine!

    Comment by Teresa | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  9. Oh so much fun! Hubby recently bought an old convertible for our daughter to drive and I am in love with it – so much fun to drive along the coast! Who says you need to be young to enjoy it all hey, we old married ducks do quite well don’t we ;)!
    hugs to you!
    Jen xo

    Comment by Jen | July 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Sounds like a treat to drive down the Australian coast in a convertible! 😉

      Comment by Elaine | July 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hi Elaine,
    Thank you for your message, I am so excited that I won!!!! I am not sure where the email you sent me would have gone to, I rechecked my inbox and junk folder…. oh well. I would like to send you my address, but I feel uncomfortable posting it in the comments section. Is there an address that I could email it to you?

    Comment by Natty | July 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

