Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

I’m Giving away some SOAP~

Here is a closer shot of the stunning blooms that I talked about yesterday.  Each individual bloom looks like a tiny bursting firework!

« ♥ »

One of my dearest friends, Lin, is spending some time here this week.  She makes her own soap so I had asked her if we could make a batch while she was here.

She willingly accommodated me.

Measuring oil…

Measuring scent…

Adding texture…

Out of the downspouts molds…

Cutting…

End cuts that we formed into balls…

We are so please with the outcome and we want to share some of our…

Lainey & Lin’s Lavender Lilac Homemade Soap!   🙂

we are just having too much fun

Oh ya!…let’s have another give-a-way.  I love to share…really I do!

Leave a comment and I’ll choose a name to receive a bar of soap!

July 14, 2010 - Posted by | free vintage images, in the kitchen, making soap

36 Comments »

  1. What a great scent combo! I can totally smell it in my mind, if that makes sense (scents?). If you choose me, will you send it to Israel? (You don’t have to, you can send it to my mom…)

    Comment by Rabbi's wife | July 14, 2010 | Reply

    • If you become the next winner then I would absolutely send the soap to Israel {the last give-a-way is going to Sweden}. You would just have to check the customs regulations for me and make sure they would accept it in. 🙂 Good Luck!

      Comment by Elaine | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. Beautiful! Two of my favorites – Lavender and Lilac – I can almost smell it from here. Thanks for the chance and again for sharing your creativity (and friends) with us. Blessings…staci

    Comment by Staci | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. Aren’t those flowers the best?? I have taken so many pictures of those blooms too, they just look so “old & antique”, kinda like the laceleaf hydrangea do to me too. and the saop looks great! what fun…I always toyed with the idea of making some…alot of work? I always like the ones made with seeds so they also exfoliate….does Lin have a webpage to view all her soaps & order??

    Comment by Gloria | July 14, 2010 | Reply

    • They really are a favorite. No web page for Lin. She just makes soap for herself and her family. She’s a very talented lady.

      Comment by Elaine | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh mine, this morning while showering my thought was I need to find more Lavender natural soap, I’m almost out. And look, you are having a give away. Lavender and Lilac, can’t get any better then that. Now if I am unlucky in winning can this soap be purchased online or at a great market? Another idea, how about soap making a Boho Retreat???? Have a great week Elaine!!!!

    Comment by junebug | July 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Nothing for sale yet. This is the first time in many years that I’ve made soap but I should at least consider that idea. I like the idea of making soap at a Art Retreat. I’m glad you like the idea too. Good Luck with the give-a-way.

      Comment by Elaine | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. Uuuummmmmm… I can just imagine how yummy it must smell! 🙂

    Comment by La~Te~Da | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  6. Soap never looked so yummy! I run by a soap store and it break ups the smell of living in a city.

    Comment by Brittney | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. Ooooh! I LOVE handmade soap!

    Comment by Michelle newell | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  8. Wow the soap looks beautiful! I just found your site today and have really enjoyed looking and admiring! Do you sell those feed bag totes because I would love to buy a few if so???

    Comment by Pamela | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hi Elaine…Beautiful soaps! I can almost smell them from here!

    Comment by Leslie | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  10. As they say in Napoleon Dynamite…”I want that!”

    Comment by Arlene | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  11. Hellooo, Your soap looks so pretty, and I bet they smell sooo good. Love the combo…

    Comment by Ellen | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  12. That soap is beautiful! I can just smell that wonderful lavendar… mmmmm….
    Hugs,
    Jill

    Comment by Jill | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  13. You have the most talented friends. I was smelling a most amazing scent as I read your blog…I actually had to look up and see if there was something in the room! I absolutely love handmade soaps. Especially ones made by ladies I’ve met or know. They are all I use; each one uniquely made, cut and scented. But, I don’t always keep them…I like to give them as gifts (and sometimes I even share mine with Farmer Bill:) ) Thanks for sharing, Julie

    Comment by Julie, berry farm girl | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  14. I love the look! Sometimes homemade soap looks not…. well… right! This looks so great I want to grab it and start using it. Plus I love lavender! I love your site, cuz, you do a really great job! Very inspiring!

    Steph

    Comment by Stephi Johnson | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  15. So much beauty in simple things – thanks Elaine, for helping people to calm down and slow down and just think peacefully. I love anything and everything you choose to share – you inspired me to buy an apron pattern. I don’t sew…but that’s just a technicality!! 🙂 Question: what ingredient in soap actually cleans?

    Comment by Adele Aguilar | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  16. If I come visit my parents will you teach me? 🙂 Beautiful

    Comment by johnna sutton | July 15, 2010 | Reply

  17. Brings back memories. I used to make soap when the kids were young, many many years ago.

    Comment by Cyndi | July 15, 2010 | Reply

  18. My grandma used to make lavender sachets with me. I adore lavender.

    Comment by Emily Dykstra | July 15, 2010 | Reply

  19. I love making soap I do a vegetable base soap been making it for 20 years what a fun thing to do! My son’s favorite is almond oatmeal!

    Comment by Susanne Griffith | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  20. I love the scent of Lavender and Lilac! The photography is wonderful!

    Comment by Natty | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  21. Oh I love soaps! I am kind of a soap addict, especially handmade, beautifully scented soap. Lavender Lilac sounds just heavenly! I love your pictures of this very cool process. Thanks for sharing.

    ~Shelley

    Comment by Shelley | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  22. Oh Elaine I love this soap. Love the look and the ingredients look really yummy!!!!

    Comment by Elizabeth | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  23. what a beautiful process … thank you for capturing it and sharing with such an artsy touch … such a gift from above you are dear elaine … blessings abound 4 all …

    Comment by Stacy | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  24. soapmaking is wonderful. always wanted to make my own but never knew quite how. thanks for the info ….the combo sounds lovely, I can almost smell it now. 🙂

    Comment by tammy | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  25. I ~Love ~ your little camper trailer! sure wish I could find one like that sometime! :B

    Comment by tammy | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  26. Love the pictures of the process – just beautiful! I can just imagine how wonderful the soap smells.
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  27. I soak in a lavendar bath salt bath every night…..it’s my favorite scent for soaps, bubble baths, and bath salts.
    I love seeing the process of making the soaps! Thanks Elaine!And thanks Lin!!!

    Comment by Nancy | July 20, 2010 | Reply

  28. Oh, Elaine… the pictures are gorgeous. I can just imagine the amazing scent of that beautiful soap. I would love to win a bar! Thank you for the giveaway.

    Comment by Mermaid Debbie | July 20, 2010 | Reply

  29. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Lavender is my absolute favorite :)!

    Comment by Jen | July 20, 2010 | Reply

  30. Please choose me.. I have been looking all over for some yummy Lavender soap!!! It is so beautiful… Hugs Deb

    Comment by Deb Facer | July 20, 2010 | Reply

  31. Lavendar and lilac…so nice!

    Comment by Amy Johnston | July 21, 2010 | Reply

  32. Looks like fun and I’m sure the fragrance is amazing! I love lavender and I think it would be a great time to make soap with a friend! You have a beautiful blog and you are so generous to offer a give away. Also, I’ve heard about Creation on the east coast for years, but I have never had the opportunity to go. So glad that you, your family, and your friends were blessed! God is soooo good! Thanks again!

    Comment by Stephanie | July 25, 2010 | Reply

  33. I cannot wait to win this wonderful soap.. I can smell it from here… Hugs Deb

    Comment by Deb Facer | July 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

