Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Warmth, pieced with love!

I love old quilts!

I grew up with hand-pieced quilts that covered our beds and offered warmth…nightly!

Most of them were pieced by my grandma.  Our clothes were mainly homemade so it was only natural to take the scraps from those clothes and make quilts with them.


When life gives you scraps…make quilts…right?  That’s just what you do! {not so much anymore}

As kids we loved looking at those quilts and with each scrap that was sewn within we would say, “I had a shirt made out of that” or, “I had a dress made out of that”…or….and it would go on and on.

I was at a garage sale last weekend, packing around this fun piece of blue fabric with the velvet red dots and the lady running the garage sale said, “I had a skirt made out of that that my mother made me”.

It made me smile and my mind flooded with memories!

I’ve been working on this quilt for…TOO LONG.  Each Dresden Plate block has been pieced with scraps that belonged to my great-grandma.  These are scraps that had been saved from the many garments {and a variety of other things} that she had made throughout her years.

It also makes me smile!

Do you have fun ‘quilt’ memories?

June 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I have some wonderful old patchwork quilts from my Gramma in Iowa. Like you they would take scraps and reuse. The original recyclers. My Mom didn’t do much quilting but she made all my clothes and even my pj’s from flour sacks. When I started quilting she couldn’t understand why I would take perfectly good fabric and cut it all up just to sew it back together again. It was okay to embroider on cotton and then incorporate into a blanket as she called it. Heaven it wasn’t quilting. Oh, the fun memories. Last weekend at my little gathering I hung several of my old quilts on the clothesline. It gave a wonder screen that blocked off the icky part of my yard. It was a wonderful backdrop. Darn I should have taken a picture of that. Love, love old vintage fabric!!!

    Comment by junebug | June 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. I have an old quilt, think they are hexagons pieced together. My grandmother made it using scraps from when our clothes were made , there are even some old ties used in it. Always brings wonderful memories every time I see it
    Alison

    Comment by Alison Gibbs | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. I love quilts, but afghans are what hold the memories for me. My mom can knit like no one else, and growing up there was nothing like curling up with an afghan she or great grandma had made. Now, I much prefer a quilt though. Sssh don’t tell my mom. ;o)
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. Quilt works is not a very common thing to do, here in Sweden. But I enjoy to watch your lovely work. Don´t you sell your sewing projects on-line?? My husband is going to Seattle again on sunday and I would have loved to buy an apron from you and have it send to his hotel.
    Best wishes Susanne

    Comment by Humlamamman | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  5. Quilts! Quilts! Quilts! I just LOVE quilts. My paternal grandmother made lots and lots of quilt tops on her treadle machine. She always gave them away as tops only, and they ALWAYS had red in them. It was her favorite color. I have a couple of her quilts…they make me smile too…and think of her. She was such a happy person, although she endured many hardships throughout her life. I hope to be a happy grandma like her and give away lots of quilts in my lifetime…maybe I’ll even put red in them!

    Comment by Julie, berry farm girl | June 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

