Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

The Solid Rock

I had one of those moments in church today.

We were singing through our list of sweet songs.  I was helping lead the worship with Mr T {because that’s what I do} and we began singing these good, old, timeless lyrics.

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness

It seemed that as we began this first frame of the song, the posture of the congregation began to sharpen.  It was as though they began to stand taller and with more confidence…

I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly lean on Jesus’ Name

The volume increased…

On Christ the solid Rock I stand
All other ground is sinking sand
I saw a peacefulness take over and a few more smiles…

Oh, to have the Hope of that Solid Rock!

I’m not sure where I would be without it!

June 13, 2010 - Posted by | our church family

8 Comments »

  1. 🙂

    Comment by amberrose | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. So true – I love that church and I love you.

    Comment by Arlene | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Solid song of old. Make me miss hymns. I’m still enjoying your blogs of old as well. :o)

    Comment by rixgal | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. And I have been singing that song all day since in my head….what a beautiful service

    Comment by Gloria | June 13, 2010 | Reply

  5. I am so thankful to the Lord for your faithful stand on that Rock.

    Comment by Dolly May | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  6. one of my dad’s favorite hymns, and definately one of mine – I am an old hymn lovin’ girl ;)!

    Comment by Jenny | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. All other ground is sinking sand!

    God bless you!

    : )

    Julie M.

    ps I didn’t get to meet you at the Farm Chicks show (you were busy with a customer) but it was lovely seeing your booth after hearing so many sweet things about you!

    Comment by Julie M. | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  8. I love the old hyms like this and wish we would sing them more often in our church. When we do get that chance, we tend to sing louder and with more meaning.

    I don’t know where I’d be without that Solid Rock either.

    Comment by Alice | June 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

