Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

the food of an angel

Amongst life’s favorites for me is homemade Angel Food Cake with strawberries and {highly sweetened} whipped cream!

It truly must be the food of angels!

I find it interesting that most women have never made an angel food cake.  Many years ago gals would shy away from making one from scratch because of the difficulty they had with getting a good stiff beating with their egg whites but with stand mixers being so common {such as Kitchenaide – Oh, how I wish I could give one away with this post!} making an angel food cake just doesn’t get easier.

It starts with about 12 eggs…whites ONLY {1½ cups}.  My refrigerator just happened to be overflowing with these lovelies that around here come in all shapes, sizes and colors…and yes, occasionally they might even have a little feather attached.  😉

Getting a good stiff egg white is the KEY to an absolutely beautiful finished {delectable} product!

A sneak peak right into the oven.

Oh, I shouldn’t do this but I just can’t help myself.  The beauty of it combined with that warm aroma…well, you’re just going to have to try it for yourself.

I’m not including a recipe here because you can get them easily.  I have always used Betty Crocker.

Oh, oh, oh!  Looky HERE…that looks like the one!

Another important part about making a successful AFC is that when it comes out of the oven it needs to be inverted.  I have an old bottle that I keep under the kitchen sink and I put the center of that cake pan right over it…upside down!

tip: DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT…grease the pan or BAD things will happen!!!

Treat yourself like an angel!

…and then with your extra egg yolks make homemade vanilla pudding!

here is a fun fyi about angel food cake

June 10, 2010 - Posted by | in the kitchen

11 Comments »

  1. yummmmmmmmm… I really want some of that! 🙂

    Comment by La~Te~Da | June 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. All I can say is YUM, YUM!

    Comment by junebug | June 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. Well, always wanted to try one and I have the kitchen aide mixer so what’s holding me back….maybe I’ll try it this weekend! Chet loves Angel Food Cake and it was his birthday last weekend and we left home and he had his 2nd favorite cake “Hostess Cupcake!” Maybe he can have a AFC. We’ll see?

    Comment by Arlene Smith | June 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. Yum! Making Angel Food Cake is so satisfying. To see it rise into the air, so pretty and light, and stay risen. Such fun! I made one for the kids arrival home from college. Nicole’s mom has been supplying me with fresh eggs which makes it doubly nice!

    Comment by Cyndi | June 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. It was wonderful….and to make it even better, this morning, Elaine took the yokes and made Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise sauce. Breakfast doesn’t get much better than that…..

    Comment by Mr. T | June 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’ll take a piece please. With all the toppings. Sure looks good. My favorite but never had a real homemade one.

    Comment by Pat | June 10, 2010 | Reply

  7. This was always my Daddy’s favorite too…so yummy! Maybe some Sunday we should have a dessert potluck!! Or maybe a Wednesday night???hmmmmm.

    Comment by Gloria | June 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Now that sounds like my kind of potluck!

      Comment by Elaine | June 10, 2010 | Reply

  8. It looks so good that I can almost smell it all the way to Sweden!!

    Comment by Humlamamman | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  9. Yummmmmm! I made Pavlova for snack today. The eggwhites were just delicious! Couldn’t have done it without my KitchenAid. 🙂

    Comment by craftapple | June 11, 2010 | Reply

    • I googled it – it looks wonderful!

      Comment by Elaine | June 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

