Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

vintage grain sacks

Recently at a garage sale I ‘scored’ by finding a stack of unused grain sacks ranging in size from small to tiny.

The man I bought them from, who was an ‘older’ gentleman, said they had been in his grandfather’s basement.

They are so old and perfectly preserved.

I can’t bear the idea of cutting these up so I will try to sew them into things, keeping them intact as I go!

I made the one hand bag, using one of the grain sacks as the front pocket.  I like it well enough that I’m hoping to get some more made.

wish me luck on that one

May 19, 2010 - Posted by | farmgirl style, sewing, Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. very delightful indeed – happy creating

    Comment by Stacy | May 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. lucky you!! those are so cute!

    Comment by kristine hanson | May 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. Love those sacks! Sure wished I had all the once my mother use to have. Wonder what happened to them? I know as a kid I had pajamas made out of four sacks.

    Comment by junebug | May 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. Well the one bag you made is darling! What an amazing find. Truly a treasure.

    Comment by WSU Laura | May 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Adorable!!!

    Comment by amberrose | May 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

