Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Soldering Workshops

Saturday was devoted to soldering.   We began by doing a practice piece…just glass.

Some of the gals took that piece, later in the day, and modge podged some fun piece of collage to the backside and used it in a creative way.


We then ventured on to a ‘real’ charm and after that soldered a large piece to hang inside a barn board frame.  Although I have done so much soldering {3yrs…1000’s of pieces}, I hadn’t ever taught soldering.

Becky, soldering away...

It didn’t go as well as I had hoped but the gals seemed to love it anyway.   I do remember my own first soldering experiences and how diligently I worked to get just the right look.  It literally took making 200-300 charms before I felt that I was doing ‘OK’.

I’ve been looking into taking a class of my own by soldering expert, Terri Brush, and now I want to take one all the more.

I love this picture because Cindy is still smiling.…actually, she was even smiling by the end.

Cathy is working away...

Ellen's

...and Arlene is working at her first 'practice' charm...

Cindy's

Ellen's

Becky's

Holly's

Thank you Amber, once again, for sharing your lovely photos and she wrote a sweet post about all this HERE.

April 23, 2010 - Posted by | Art Retreat, Art Retreat.CampOne, retreat workshops

5 Comments »

  1. Elaine it looks like you had everything for everyone. Did you forget anything?? The first thing I do when I get up is get on the computer and look at your blog and new posts. It makes all my problems go away. Thank you.

    Comment by phmitchell | April 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Pat ~~~ you are so very sweet! Thank you! Have an amazing day!

      Comment by Elaine | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m sure I will be all fingers and probably burnt ones too! But I so want to learn!! I need a chicken wire frame for my house!! I’m sure you are being hard on yourself about not going as well as planned. The girls look like they are having fun and look at there masterpieces! Must be a great teacher!

    Comment by junebug | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. I think we are a lot of “gals” who envy the lucky one´s that attended the Boho weekend. The photos gives us a nice glimse of what you did and I enjoy looking at them.
    Have a nice and relaxing 🙂 weekend!
    Susanne

    Comment by Humlamamman | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. Whenever I wear your charm, I always get compliments about the soldering. Your work is beautiful.
    Looks like a wonderful weekend was enjoyed by all.

    Comment by Michelle | April 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

