Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Sweet & Sassy!

Block #18 to my 1″ Life Sampler reflects a time in my life that always makes me smile.

There is a memorable day in April of 2005 when I had the opportunity to go to a lovely teahouse in Redmond, WA with two of my girlfriends, Amber and Trisha.  We felt so inspired as we absorbed the environment around us that we became consumed with the idea of starting up our own tea house…which quickly turned to a focus on cupcakes.  This began a different journey of finding and refining the perfect cupcake recipes.  As friends connected with friends, we began making cupcakes at all hours of the day, for a variety of occasions, whenever the need would arise.

I love to dream and I love it when others are willing to dream with me.  We did see that dream fizzle, for a variety of reasons.  I’m glad we didn’t dive in to the expense and commitment of a shop but I don’t regret one day of dreaming the dream.

We just had way too much fun processing our way through that dream.

When Kristine sent me some snippets from her collection of ‘authentic’ prints last week, I immediately saw it as a challenge.  “What can I do with these that will be for ME?”  I have loved making these burlap aprons and I decided that I would make one for me with those prints.  I have a long, green, tiered, silk skirt that will go perfectly with this to wear at  my shows….and I can compliment that with some cute boots!  {oh, ya!}

This one I made with one of the old drapes that I brought home from my grandma’s house recently.

This would make an ugly drape/curtain but fun, linen fabric and it goes well with the burlap.

~the sweet and sassy cupcake girls...Sweet & Sassy...for sure!

Check this post out for a fun give-a-way!  I’ll keep it open for a few more days!

March 23, 2010 - Posted by | 1" Life Sampler, friends, sewing, vintage{y} apron

6 Comments »

  1. You girls look like ya`ll have a lot of fun!!! That`s so wonderful…Ellen

    Comment by Ellen | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. Love what you did with the “authentic” prints. I was waiting to see what you came up with. I called in today from work something I never do. So I have been looking at blogs all day “DREAMING”.

    Comment by Pat | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. This is my favorite life sampler block… and my favorite post! 🙂 I miss you friend… but SWEET and SASSY will never be forgotten… 🙂

    Comment by La~Te~Da | March 24, 2010 | Reply

    • It is a fun one…miss you, too! >

      Comment by Elaine | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  4. All smiles:)

    Comment by amberrose | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  5. I love this apron…so glad you are going to keep it for yourself.

    I totally understand the dreaming… my daughter and I have waaaayyyyy too much of that dreaming gene. Although, to our credit and yours, I think we are all working out our dreams right now. Way to go ladies! Julie

    Comment by Julie, berry farm girl | March 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

