Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

feed sack~:~shopping bag

Here is a much more chic feed sack:turned shopping bagThe last one wasn’t such a great hit but I think that this one hits the mark.

Generally, when I assemble anything…from bags to aprons…I will only use items from my stash.  I never ‘go shopping’ for just the right elements…I make sure that I have what I need right here.

One exception to this might be a custom order where the customer provides the main ingredient…those are more challenging for me, but I love doing them!

The canvas handle is from some yardage that I picked up at Goodwill.  The small, red corduroy handles came from a bag of scraps at a thrift store.  The red and white gingham was previously used for the tables at my son’s rehearsal dinner. The feed sacks were passed on to me by my true-blue-farm-girl-cousin Heidi who we are always keeping an eye out for a splendid true-blue-farm-boy…for only splendid will do!

I love Washington and I really LOVE Eastern Washington so I simply had to save the strip on the bag that said ‘Spokane, Washington’.  I sewed it onto the canvas handle.

It’s just too much fun!!!

Sometimes, as you know, I tickle myself!

February 27, 2010 - Posted by | farmgirl style, market shopper, sewing

17 Comments »

  1. I want one. SO CUTE!!!!! I LOVE visiting you!!! Thanx for sharing your talents with us.

    Comment by kelli hansen | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. ooooooooooh I can SO see you at Farm Chicks with one of these, DARLING! DARLING! DARLING!

    Comment by kristine hanson | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • You’re right, they will be perfect for the Farm Chicks sale. I’m already on the lookout for people in my area who buy this brand so I can make more! 😉 >

      Comment by Elaine | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. oh oh oh!! CUTE!! Little goats..maybe you need to make one for Zach;)

    Comment by amberrose | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. much better than the deer corn bag:) I love it!!!

    Comment by La~Te~Da | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. These are incredible and I can’t believe you made everything from scratch!

    Comment by jeanne | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  6. Love those bags!! I would totally use those for everyday. My daughter and I are planning a trip to the Farm girls in June. Can’t wait!

    Comment by Michelle | February 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Make SURE you stop by. I’m not sure where my spot will be this year but it will be “Vintage Charm” on your map! 😉

      >

      Comment by Elaine | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  7. This is one of my favorite things you have made! I love it!!

    Comment by Arlene | February 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Ahhh….thanks sis! >

      Comment by Elaine | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  8. So cool! I know this must have taken awhile to do! It’s kinda hard for me to sew on the stiff bags, it doesn’t manipulate like fabric, but I love how they turn out.
    JOY!

    Comment by Joy Bayer | February 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Joy – I take that as a compliment from you since you were the one who shared the idea with me originally – Thanks for sharing!!! I have fun with them! >

      Comment by Elaine | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  9. real cute love the goat.

    Comment by Pat | February 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. I think I love love love your shopping bags. Beauteous!

    Comment by Cyndi | February 28, 2010 | Reply

    • I think they are pulling out the ‘country girl’ in a lot of gals, Cyndi!

      >

      Comment by Elaine | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  11. Those bags turned out Adorable!
    I’m hoping me and my friend will be able to make it the Farm Chicks Antiques Show this year…so we just might see ya!

    ~ Heather from Bizy Janes 😀

    Comment by Biz and Heather, aka Bizy Janes | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  12. Wow – those really are as cute as can be!!!

    Comment by craftapple | March 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

