Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

National Pie Day!

I come from a looooooong line of pie makers.

Women who were dedicated to their families and homes.

What a lucky girl I’ve been to have such mentors in my life.

I’ve always been hopeful that just a fraction of their goodness would rub off on me.

It seems so fitting on National Pie Day to celebrate these women whom I’ve come from.

Last year I mentioned wanting to make a cream pie and it’s taken me a whole year to get to it.  My Grandma B. specialized in cream pies…possibly never opening a box of Jell-O Instant Pudding Mix.  Any time I make pudding, from scratch (which, btw, is the only way that I’ll make pudding!!!), I think of Grandma and how proud she would be.

In her later years, she often would make a Peanut Butter Cream Pie to share with friends and family.  Now, at our own family gatherings, that same pie often graces our dessert table adding to the plentiful variety.

When my grandma would make this recipe she would mix 1 c. powdered sugar and ½ c. peanut butter until it was crumbly • place that in the bottom of a cooled, pre-baked pie crust, reserving 2-4 tablespoons • pour over that the vanilla pudding of your choice (I used the Betty Crocker recipe) • Slather that with a thick layer of sweetened, whipped cream (w/a bit of vanilla added) • then sprinkle with the reserved peanut butter/sugar mixture.

My, Oh!, My ~purely delightful!!! I think I may need to go have that for breakfast 😉

January 23, 2010 - Posted by | in the kitchen, recipe

3 Comments »

  1. Looks so yummy! I come from a long line of pie makers also and it is my very favorite thing to bake. I have a sign in my kitchen that says, “Pie Fixes Everything”. And it does! I think we’ll have to try your cream pie tomorrow…Sunday is our sugar day!

    Comment by Julie, berry farm girl | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. It looks good, I guess I have taught you well. If fact it was good because we had some last night!!!

    Comment by Dolly May | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. Elaine, Got my sisters necklace today. It is sooooooo cute. She will love it. Thanks so much. I forgot to thank you for the cute heart shaped tin you sent as well. Also I was off today and my like daughter Malinda ( you made a necklace for her) made your Peanut Butter Cream Pie. My mother is dying of lung cancer and I took her a piece. Of course she wanted dessert first ate the whole piece then would not eat breakfast. She said it was the best pie she had every had. So all your many talents keep my family very happy. GOD BLESS YOU. Malinda and her 3 Amish sisters made Mom a scrap book 31 pages of poems and pictures. It was priceless. All hand written. Again thanks, I love the necklace once again.

    Comment by Pat | February 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

