Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

The rightful owner…

I am writing this as a follow-up to this post.  If you haven’t read it please take the time to do so.

It’s a very sweet, heartwarming story that I feel blessed to have been a part of.

The album made it safely to it’s rightful owners. It belonged to the family of the gentleman on the left.  He was one of five children featured in this album and the only one that is still living.  His father was an amateur photographer, therefore explaining the beautiful and abundant photographs included in it.    There is no way to fully know the journey that it has been on over the years.  It possibly made it’s way to the Pacific Northwest via one of the older girls.

Because of how I am, I couldn’t help but get emotionally involved in this story.   The first time I looked through it’s pages I began to feel connected.   From the first e-mail that went out, my contact has only been with the grandson (pictured on the right).  It continues to amaze me that his was the name we chose to send that first note of inquiry to.

With each bit of correspondence I have looked forward to his response especially upon receiving the album ~ which was…

“the album has arrived. Beautiful pictures!!
My grandpa was very excited —
Thank you again so much for giving us a wonderful gift”

He has been gracious and appreciative from the beginning and couldn’t wait to have the opportunity to sit and view the album with his grandfather.

Here is a photo of his grandfather, Bill {the only one still living of the children},  November 1927 ~ age 2 years & 8 months.

You’re just going to have to try to picture the smile that is on my face… 🙂

January 19, 2010 - Posted by | vintage

13 Comments »

  1. Elaine, what a treasure indeed! How neat for that gentleman to have this to look through and share with his family!

    Comment by kristine hanson | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. soo sweet:)

    Comment by amberrose | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. Elaine, this is so very exciting. What a wonderful, wonderful thing you did for this family. Even at 2, grandfather has “attitude” wouldn’t you say! Awesome.

    Comment by Joni Campbell | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh my goodness! I think I need a kleenex now! What a great story and gift!

    Comment by jennifer | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Elaine: This is one of the sweetest endings ever. How wonderful to see the grandson and grandfather with the album. The joy on the grandson’s face is so evident…what a treasure and memory for both of them…and for you too. Bless you for gifting them and us with this happy ending. Those photos are priceless.

    Comment by VintageBethie | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. What a precious story…..It must mean the world to him!

    Warm blessings,
    Spencer

    Comment by Spencer | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. Wow! Such a God thing that YOU found it, decided to find the rightful owners, AND you did it in one try! Amazing! A real tear jerker in my book.
    I love your blog…I’ve read back through all of 2009 this week! You’ve inspired me to make our new farm blog fun and refreshing with lots of photos. Still learning…having a hard time getting the photos right…still too small. How do you get them that big? Thanks for sharing your joy, life and faith. God bless your blog!
    P.S. linked from your website…I’ll be emailing soon as I want another one of your charms…with my amazing grandmother on it…a true farm girl!

    Comment by Julie, berry farm girl | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. I love a happy ending…and this one couldn’t get any better. oxo

    Comment by Judy | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  9. I love how this turned out, wouldn’t it be interesting to know the path this album took? I haven’t seen Apronology yet, but I did wear the one I bought from you at FC at the Clark County show and had lots of compliments!
    I was in Borders this pm and saw MJ Farms new magazine, did you make the charms? (in the back?)
    I am getting so excited for this season of shows!
    JOY!

    Comment by Joy Bayer | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  10. I am so glad you posted the follow up of this Elaine, it is lovely to put a face to the story!! I can’t get over how sweet the grandfather is in the last photo!! and I can imagine your beautiful smile ;)!!

    Comment by jenny | January 21, 2010 | Reply

  11. What a wonderful ending! I can only imagine how much fun it was to return the album. I have some old pictures that came with an Etsy purchase. I’d love to send them to you when I get back home in a few weeks. It would be great if you could use them.

    Comment by craftapple | June 30, 2010 | Reply

  12. We mark our history like shallow footprints left in snow, and what little trace we leave, quickly melts away…unless you have the Internet, photos, and a scanner….Lloyd Smith

    “A birth certificate proves you were born, a death certificate proves you died, photos prove you lived.”

    “Family stories & photos preserve precious links between our past and our future, events where the heritage of our ancestors are instilled within the hearts of our children.”

    Loved the article!

    Comment by Lloyd Smith | November 3, 2012 | Reply

  13. Elaine,
    We read Jodi Detrick’s story about this in today’s Seattle Times so I had to check out the photos. It made me cry thinking about own family and the boxes of photos I inherited from my parents. It was no mistake that you were one who purchased this precious album; very few albums found in second hand stores have this kind of ending. Thanks for a great story.
    Dan and Melonie Salinas

    Comment by Dan Salinas | November 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

