Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

just a few more blessings…

Here is another variation of the Christmas Stockings that I wrote about yesterday…I really like this one!

On a different note…today I celebrate 23 years of being a mom…½ my life!

What an interesting thought…it’s a thought that prods me to reminisce a bit.  I can honestly say that from my earliest recollection, all I ever wanted to be was a mom.  I absolutely couldn’t wait.  Then I jumped in.  When Andrew was 9 mos.  {and seeming like such a big boy}, Lauren was on the way….then about 4 years later, Elizabeth.  There really wasn’t any time to think…I just did…and did…and went…and did some more….   Now I can see how my life was redefined on November 21st ♥ 1986…it took on new meaning.  I didn’t really realize then that I would never be the same.  I truly believe that once we are gifted with the title ‘Mom’, God begins to dole out His ‘mom blessings’…the blessings that He saves just for moms!   He begins to change us and gift us as He sees fit.  I’m so thankful {& a bit overwhelmed} with His generosity!

Happy Birthday, Andrew!

November 21, 2009 - Posted by | birthday, Chic Rustique, family, sewing

11 Comments »

  1. What a good picture of Mother and Son:) LOVE the stockings..they are turning out FAB!!:)

    Comment by amberrose | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. This is a very special day. You are a wonderful mom and I love you lots.

    Comment by Arlene | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’ll never forget that day when Andrew was born. You worked hard for him. It was so hard for me to watch your pain, but the results were great. All I ever wanted to be was a wife and mother, so I must have passed that on to you, it’s the highest calling that a woman can have .

    Comment by Dolly may | November 22, 2009 | Reply

    • I agree! Thanks for passing that on to me! LoveYa >

      Comment by Elaine | November 22, 2009 | Reply

      • I must be the third generation of that calling 🙂

        Comment by Lauren | November 22, 2009 | Reply

        • I think you’re right! …it makes me smile >

          Comment by Elaine | November 22, 2009

  4. I just love the stockings Elaine! it’s gorgeous! – very ‘french’! Many happy blessings to Andrew on his birthday, his first birthday as a husband, yes? :)! And, coincidence… I too celebrated 23 years of being a mum this year, ..also with a blonde haired blue eyed boy… and like you, when Steve was 9 months old we found out Angel was on the way… (followed 2yrs later by Deekie and then Alora…) You always put it so clearly Elaine, the “mum” (scuze my aussie-ness) blessings are the best, nothing compares does it! I was a bit overwhelmed when they were all born so closely but the Lord’s blessings have been so full and wonderful I wouldn’t have had it any other way and I know you wouldn’t either! Have a wonderful day my friend, I see in your twitter it’s snowing – oooooh, lucky you!!!, (snow photos please for your hot and bothered aussie friend! ;)!)

    Comment by jenny | November 22, 2009 | Reply

    • sweet comments, my friend…so many similarities! I’m sure that I’ll post ‘snow pictures’ in the future – I won’t be capturing just the right one today though…it’s already a bit wet and drippy! >

      Comment by Elaine | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  5. There’s something I’ve been meaning to ask, but always seem to forget when we’re together… seeing that your ‘big’ little boy was only a mere 9 months old, were you surprised to discover precious little me was on the way, or did I ‘happen’ on purpose?

    Just wondering 😉

    Comment by Lauren | November 22, 2009 | Reply

    • You were most definitely planned – I know, it sounds crazy…like I said, it just felt like Andrew was such a big boy and ready for a sibling… >

      Comment by Elaine | November 22, 2009 | Reply

  6. What a beautiful son you have, Elaine! He looks a lot like his mom. 🙂 oxo

    Comment by Judy | November 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

