Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

dining…

new table

I’ve been working on a new dining room set.  Last year I found an old oak worktable (possibly from a school?) for $20 and I just couldn’t leave it but I wasn’t sure what I would do with it.  I decided that I would love to try it out in my dining room but it needed more…chairs.  I had a friend build me some benches then w/in a week or so I found four wonderful chairs at a garage sale.

After several layers of paint then some sanding, (it still needs more distressing and a layer of brown paste wax) I can tell that I’m going to love it.  It’s not quite as practical for a large meal because of how narrow it is but we will make it work.

new table

Last night my girl had the girls in her youth group over for a sleep-over.  It was fun to plan a special breakfast for them and use my table for the first time.

Libby's friends

Sir Eli

Mr. Eli doesn’t make ‘the blog’ very often so it’s unusual for him to make it two days in a row but my niece captured this sweet shot of him this morning so I’m sharing it with you.

November 14, 2009 - Posted by | family, friends, pets

5 Comments »

  1. Awww! Mr. Eli! I love him!

    Comment by Jessica | November 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi…I am new to your blog. I don’t know how I have missed it…but it is fantastic. You are so talented. I love your charms. I will be back to visit soon!

    Comment by Ceekay | November 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. What a lovely gathering around a wonderful dining table! You did great piecing everything together.

    Mr. Eli is beautiful. Is he a Persian? We have an Eli grandson…

    Happy Lord’s day to you.

    oxo

    Comment by Judy | November 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. The dining table looks so inviting! Makes you long for a nice family dinner! Hey, we know we have blogged with you before, but we would really like you to consider being a vendor at our May Funky Junk Sisters Show! You can get more info from our website funkyjunksisters.com. (our fall show made it into Porch magazine!)

    Linda & Dixie
    The Funky Junk Sisters

    Comment by The Funky Junk Sisters | November 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. Your table looks splendid! Especially the shot with it in full use. Love the shot of your kitty as well.

    It was swell to read your nice comment on our blog. Are you doing the Farm Chicks show again? Lisa and I are really looking forward to it.

    Beth of Salvage Studio

    Comment by Beth Evans-Ramos | November 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

