Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

sugar, sugar…

shopping bag

This is an interesting post for me since I’ve been off of sugar (w/the exception of a few candy corn here and there) for the past couple of weeks (& feeling sensational I might add).  The fact that we’ve consumed 25 lbs. in a short time, shows my ♥love♥ of sugar…and all of that sweet goodness didn’t just go to church potlucks!

So here we have a sugar bag transformed to…shopping bag.

shopping bagI saw a Safeway bag this week that had this extra set of ‘quick-grab’ handles on it, so I decided to try that idea here.

shopping bagThere just isn’t much else we can do in this house with size 1 Roxy jeans…at least here, inside the bag, we can use them for the extra pocket space.

November 4, 2009 - Posted by | market shopper, sewing, Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Okay Elaine. Now you’ve done it! This is just too SWEET! I love it and actually think I could pull one off…when I get a good sugar bag. I would love to be able to take a look inside your mind. 🙂 With bags like this the change from bring your own to no plastic will be a wonderful fashion statement. I’ve seen a lot of shopping bags on the web, but sincerely I say…this is the sweetest.

    oxo Judy

    Comment by Judy | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ah!! Elaine, you have outdone yourself!! I love this!! – the lining made from jeans is – WOW! Honestly, you are the most creative person I know – where do you get all your ideas from – Fantastic!!!!
    hugs to you my friend xoxo

    Comment by jenny | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Talk about sweet! So creative. Makes me wish I could sew!

    Comment by VintageBethie | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. Elaine, you pictures are looking GREAT! It looks like you’re getting the hang of your camera! 🙂 Awesome!

    Comment by michelle | November 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Michelle – I still feel like I am just barely making it beyond the basics though…but at least I’m working beyond…I will say that I am so glad that I have it! >

      Comment by Elaine | November 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. Love your blog and you have some fantastic ideas. So happy that Judy at Apronstrings put me in touch with your site, what a fun read and look-see this rainy morning here in Virginia. As I told Judy, your totes are the greatest and you can never have too many totes these days. I keep a stash in several places so they are always at the ready. Looking forward to more visits here, Lennie

    Comment by Lennie | November 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. visiting you from Judy’s apron strings … your bag is fabulous! very recreative repurposing!
    I have never seen a sugar bag that big = 🙂

    Comment by ~*~Patty | November 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. sorry I meant to say “creative repurposing” 🙂

    Comment by ~*~Patty | November 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

