Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Embracing Fall!

garden chowderThis was the perfect soup to make for my first-soup-of-the-season soup.  I was able to go to the garden and rummage through for just the right ingredients to make the most perfect and satisfying combination.  Mr T even seemed to whole-heartedly agree on this one.

I added some fresh (peeled) tomatoes and a bit of sage along with a sprinkling of our favorite kitchen ingredient…

Lawry's Garlic Saltfresh from the gardenI have been really mourning the loss of my garden due to freezing temperatures each night.  But, I just picked all of this about 10 minutes ago, so you can see that there is still some goodness to be had.

I encourage you to try this recipe even if it means going to the store {or your local farmer’s market} to pick up your fresh ingredients.  I can’t wait to have left-overs for lunch with the fresh whole wheat bread that I made to go with it.

I’ve taken this recipe out of a cookbook that I’ve had for 15+ years and I love it.  I also have the book shown (in the link), Heart and Soul…love it.  I see there  is a third that I should probably pick up…

October 8, 2009 - Posted by | garden, just plain fun, my neck of the woods!, Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Ohhhh, potato soup! One of my fall (and winter) favorites! Your recipe sounds great, I think I’ll try it! (and of course desert will be the applesauce donuts!)

    I think that the end of the garden (I’ll call it the passing) is always a little melancholy. But it looks like yours is still holding out!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by thestitchinchicken | October 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. I also have this cookbook, it was given to me by a very very dear friend. I recognized it immediately!

    Hope you make it to our Funky Junk Sisters Show in Puyallup. It is only 2 weeks away. We have doubled the shows size, 90+ vendors!

    Linda
    Funky Junk Sister #2
    http://www.funkyjunksisters.blogspot.com

    Comment by The Funky Junk Sisters | October 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. mmmm…sounds yummy! It’s the perfect weather for soup, a little chilly and gray 🙂

    Comment by Charity | October 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. mmmmm…looks promising. My first soup of the season was chicken with okra and tomatoes. It was wonderful. It’s about time for another pot. This potato soup recipe would be a good “next” one. Soup is one of my favorite things about the cooler months of the year. It’s such comfort food.

    Comment by Judy | October 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

