Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

my Mary Jane experience~

Yesterday, my involvement in Mary Jane’s Farm Fair was wonderful, for many different reasons.

Miss Mary Jane ButtersHaving an opportunity to meet Mary Jane was a hi-light ~ bare feet and all :-).  I walked up to her and said, with my hand held out for a handshake, “I would love to meet you!”  She grabbed me for a great big farmgirl hug, and proceeded to make me feel like she also would love to meet me.

She’s a sweet, beautiful lady and I mentioned in my last post that I have loved everything I’ve seen that she has had a hand in.  My favorite magazine is hers {thx. Mom for the gift-subscription}.  Printed on recycled paper, just the ‘feel’ of it makes me smile.  If you haven’t seen it, I highly encourage you to check it out.  Every page is thoughtful and beautiful.

Barron's Flour Mill

I have a lot of pictures to share.  It’s hard to describe the beauty of the area.  The backdrop was Mary Jane’s Barron’s Historic Flour Mill in Oakesdale, Washington.

flour mill

This was behind me…

scene

and this was in front.

inside MJ's tentA view inside a tent that was set up…

inside MJ's tent

…total Mary Jane style.

MJ's trailerHere is Mary Jane’s teardrop trailer ~ the perfect addition to begin your own glamping {glamour camping} adventure.

vintage charm

shots from my boothboots

boots

more boots

hankie nose-gays

aprons

charms

There were a lot of great vendors although I would have enjoyed even more of the home-spun, earthy, vintage feel woven throughout the choice of vendors.

There were also many other great attractions to enjoy.sheep girl

We enjoyed live animals, including horse rides…

entertainment

and wonderful entertainment all day long.

entertainment

face painting

families galore

darling girls enjoying their fresh-squeezed lemonade

One of the things I enjoyed so much about the day was that it was noticeably a family event.

grinders

I was so impressed with these beautiful, RED wheat grinders.  {when I unload my vehicle 😦 I’ll find the address to link to these}

home made goat's milk soapand I bartered some charms for several of these gorgeous hand made bars of soap.

I hope these pictures show what a wonderful day this was – such a great family-friendly way to celebrate the 4th of July.

What they don’t show is how much work is involved.  I can’t even begin to describe with my own words how exhausting this job is.  I always feel that I give the same response {sorry for this} to my friends/family when they ask, “How did you do?????” {each time they ask with such great enthusiasm}  My answer generally is…it was a great day – I loved being here – the people were wonderful – the event was beautifully organized – but….my sales were a little disappointing.  The bottom line is that when you have a cottage industry it’s nearly impossible to get paid for the time that’s involved.  Yesterday began @ 5am – we did set-up, sales and tear-down in the same day – I was quite blessed to have my niece, Lindsey, there to help me.  Because I live about 2½ hours away from the event I pulled in @ home @ about 11:30 last night.  I was so tired I couldn’t even talk – I went straight to bed.  Luckily, on my drive home I had sunflower seeds, black licorice & coffee working their magic to keep me awake.

Oh, can I add here that it was a 95°.

Crazy as it sounds…I love what I do!

July 5, 2009 - Posted by | favorite magazines, Mary Jane's Farm, show sales

8 Comments »

  1. Elaine, you amaze me with your up-beat attitude, even with
    95 degree weather, the long drive and having to eat black licorice to get home. Love you lots–keep up the love you have for what you are doing.

    Comment by Aunt Kaye | July 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh Elaine!! What fun pictures!! Yes that must be soo much work, but not only do you love it (and are super duper good at it) it keeps you alive, vibrant and young. I promise I won’t ask you again about sales:) and keep it up girl..I love living vicariously through you:)

    Comment by amberrose | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Keep up the beautiful creativity Elaine! I love following your blog and especially your travels. I can’t wait for pictures from the garden this year.

    Comment by Michelle | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. The pictures are beautiful and it sounds like you had a wonderful day! Miss you and wish we could have visited longer your last stop in.

    Comment by Cyndi | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  5. Elaine,

    I love the photos. DO you have cowgirl boots in a size 10?? I need some!

    Comment by Rolane Hopper | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. Looks like you had a blast my friend – so glad everyone is getting to see the treasures that are Tinker Verve’s charms!! Wish I could have been there it looks like it was so much fun!
    Hugs
    Jen xoxox

    Comment by jenny | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  7. […] in the next issue of Mary Janes Farm there will be a picture of me that was taken @ the vendor fair that I did on July 4th. …more to come on that […]

    Pingback by More Mary Jane… « Tinker Verve | August 4, 2009 | Reply

  8. Love those red wheat grinders, did you ever find the link to those? I would love it if you can dig it up 🙂

    All the pics are lovely! I so wish I would have gone, I just have to this year.

    Warmly, Lara Falcon, Farmgirl #327

    Comment by Lara | April 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

