Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Buzz & Blossoms~

apple tree blooms

Our fruit trees are beginning to blossom right now.

apple tree blooms

They are fresh, beautiful and fragrant.

plum tree blooms

apple blossom w/bee

apple blossom w/bee

strawberry blooms

tiny butterfly

forget-me-knotsI will never tire of the sites and sounds of the honeybee…

especially since she so tirelessly works away in my garden.  Pollinating as she goes ~ helping it to survive as she fights for her own life.

The USDA estimates that insect-pollinated plants (fruits, nuts, soybeans, and vegetables) account for one-third of our diet, and honeybees do approximately 80% of the work.  The honeybee’s efforts add $15 billion in crop value (Go! Washington apples!)

If the bee disappears from the surface of the earth, man would have not more than four years to live.

~Albert Einstein

May 22, 2009 - Posted by | garden, my neck of the woods!

10 Comments »

  1. Your pictures are beautiful….

    Comment by Arlene | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sooo calming to my soul!

    Comment by Aunt Kaye | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Way to make that camera work..finally!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. the forget me knots are Awesome Elaine!

    Comment by Scott | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  5. Gorgeous pictures Elaine!, but oh dear, I cringed when I read this post, for the first time ever I had a bee in my kitchen this morning (very strange in winter!).. I killed it.. I felt so guilty after I read this.. should have put the little fella outside…. I promise next time I will!

    Comment by jenny | May 23, 2009 | Reply

    • only honey bees, Jenny – I kill any other kind of bee that comes into my house. Honeybees will only sting you in self defense and if they sting someone then they die. My little niece got stung by one last year because she accidentally put her hand on top of it and then, sure enough, it died.

      Comment by Elaine | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  6. The flowers are so pretty! Hope you are having a fabulous Memorial Day Weekend! 🙂

    Comment by tattingchic | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  7. Lovely wildlife photos, very pretty indeed 🙂

    Have a lovely day!

    Comment by madeleinemiranda | May 25, 2009 | Reply

  8. Beautiful pics Elaine 🙂

    Comment by Charity | May 25, 2009 | Reply

  9. […] honeybees that were in our orchard last month are now on the raspberries…working their […]

    Pingback by It’s always good to be home…. « Tinker Verve | June 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

