Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

The warmth of tea + a give-a-way!

I love tea parties!

tea for two ~ charmThe ‘tea craze’ really started in the 90’s when my girls were young.  I collected everything ‘tea’ that I could get my hands on.

Emily Barnes collection

My favorite author at that time was Emilie Barnes.  She seemed to always have a keen sense of understanding of what I really needed to hear.  Actually, I learned that she had a very keen sense of understanding of what women needed to hear and amazingly communicated a variety of subjects {incl. tea} through her writings and seminars.

I had the opportunity to be her {along w/her husband, Bob} chauffeur for a weekend.  That was pure joy!  My favorite book that she authored is If Teacups Could Talk.

'tea' charmsI know how refreshing it is to share a quiet moment with a friend or friends over a warming cup of tea.  It seemed as though even when my kids were young and playing in the background that the ‘act’ of sharing tea together was quieting in itself.

'tea' charmsI enjoyed teaching my children the proper way to have tea  and enjoy it – I even did this with my son on occasion {however, he never developed a true appreciation for it} 😉

It often became the focus for the girls’ birthday celebrations, combined with ‘dress-up’.

And now it’s even more fun with my nieces.  (sorry to my girls, but I think this is how it will also be with grandkids – it’s just easier to enjoy the little things…it’s hard to explain but yet I completely understand it) 🙂

'tea' charmsAs I was gathering my ‘Emilie’ books I noticed that I have some duplicates. {go figure}

If you leave a one-word comment on this post telling me what you enjoy most about sharing a cup of tea with a friend, I will draw a name and send you a brand new (the spine hasn’t even been cracked open yet) copy of Emilie’s The Twelve Teas of Friendship.

*I kind of felt bad that I didn’t have a give-a-way for my 300th post yesterday so, here you go!….

**The tea set used in the above pics is a miniature one – didn’t want for you to think that those were HUGE charms. 😉


The true gift of a teatime celebration…fills our
cups with joy and warmth. May the echo of the
teacups’ message be heard not only on special
occasions, but anytime friends come together.  …Emilie Barnes

May 14, 2009 - Posted by | friends, soldered charms, tea party

16 Comments »

  1. fellowship

    Comment by Deb Shirley | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. TERRIFIC!!!

    Ok, is this right, finally?

    Comment by Pat Borglum | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. comforting

    Comment by Cyndi | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. ur beautiful!

    Comment by Kelli Panush | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. Warmth:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. Girl-talk

    Comment by Amy Spencer | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. JOY

    Comment by Carrie | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  8. [fond]memories

    Comment by Lauren | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. Special

    Comment by Aunt Kaye | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  10. Sisters

    Comment by Arlene | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. ~Loveauteavity
    (La-Vu-Tea-Vi-ty)

    definition: Love, Tea, and Creativity!
    (I made that one UP!!) dang Im good:)

    Comment by La~te~Da | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  12. Relaxation

    Comment by jenny | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  13. I’m loving all of the sweet words
    they make me smile –
    keep the comments coming,
    these gals need more competition!

    Comment by Elaine | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  14. fantabulous!

    Comment by Cyndi | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  15. blessed

    Comment by Judy | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  16. I so Miss your tea partys

    Comment by Wendy Girl | May 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

