Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Carpenter’s Apron * Retailored

img_1527I worked up a new apron this morning using an old carpenter’s apron that I picked up on Monday at our local 2nd hand store {for $1}.

carpenter apron, apronOh, boy…was it ever filthy.  I soaked it in Oxyclean, washed it with more Oxyclean and then I mended it here and there.

carpenter apron, apronI really love how this turned out ~I find it incredibly fun to work with vintage and re~purposed fabrics.  The main, stripe fabric is from a {cute} jumper that I wore in the 80’s.

I would love to keep this one…but I won’t!

*the only ‘new’ element used in this apron was the thread! 😉

May 6, 2009 - Posted by | aprons, bespoke design, new creations, sewing, vintage{y} apron

4 Comments »

  1. Just checked your blog, which I do only once a week now that I am in Ak. Your chicken coop is lovely – too lovely for chickens, but looks like fun. I enjoy the pictures so much of what you are doing. Did you do a tea for your church ladies? And where? Looked like a nice party. I’m sure I’m missing out on a lot.

    Comment by Dolly May | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. oh, that dress… it looks better today than it did back then.

    I like seeing Trippy in the background. Any way you could bring him along this weekend?

    Comment by Lauren | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. I like the apron but I sure wish you would still wear the jumper from the 80’s **sigh**

    Comment by Amber Rose | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Uber cuteness! and that Jumper is still “IN”… I mean isnt denim stripes a timeless look? I think so!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | May 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

