Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Burlap Bag~

Ok!  So here is a new post ~ now you don’t have to look at yesterday’s anymore.  Wow!  You gals are so funny and I’m not used to getting negative comments.  This is the 2nd post that has brought out this same response from you. – I’m still holding out for that one viewer to leave a comment who actually likes my ‘ugly woman chair’.

burlap bagHopefully, this will make you smile ~ although I didn’t smile too much while I was making it.

burlap bagMy daughter used to work for a coffee shop/roaster and I have several coffee bean bags that she gave me.

burlap bagI’ve been inspired by maya made to make something fun with these bags, but she makes it looks way too easy.  I found it so hard & frustrating to sew.

burlap bagI almost gave up but today my goal was to begin working on more aprons and this ½-done bag was sitting by my sewing machine.  I had been thinking about the best way to finish it so I decided that I needed to give it a try.

inside of my burlap bag

burlap bag
I like it now that’s it’s done.  It is so one-of-a-kind {bespoke}!  All of the fabrics that I used in the handle and lining are vintage.  I also used an end of a dresser scarf for a divided pocket inside.

~♥~

On another note ~ I picked up 3 kittens over the weekend.

kitty & TrippI’m sure that there will be more photos to come…

May 5, 2009 - Posted by | bespoke design, pets, sewing

9 Comments »

  1. Now that is cute… AND I did not leave a negative comment.. I was giving you ideas on how to market the “ugly woman chair”!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. I love your bag! I think it’s a wonderful design… incorporating burlap’s natural need to fray on the top edge. Burlap takes some getting used to… some getting to know. I think you should feel incredibly proud of how wonderful your first project turned out. I’m so impressed! Because coffee sacks are so temperamental (but so satisfying when it works), I started teaching my workshops. Soon I’ll post some tips. I’m hoping to release my bucket patterns this summer and they will include a section on “burlap demystified”. So glad you invited me over!! You have such a lovely blog!
    p.s. I might be the one that likes your “woman” chair. Really!

    Comment by mayaluna | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Love the bag… maybe you should make me a special one for my exciting travels coming up!! I have lots of tips and opinions for lining fabrics 😉

    Wish I could cuddle with those kitties… looks like Tripp is giving them plenty of attention though!!

    Comment by Lauren | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. Much nicer. I love the bag! And the kitties but I’m glad they are your kitties. I am so done with animals at the moment!

    Comment by Cyndi | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. Love the bag…that’s Elaine fashion right there 🙂 One of kind! I’d love to sling one over my shoulder…

    Comment by Charity | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. Oh I soo love that bag!! I think there was just a write up on her in artful blogging.. sooo cool!! How much??
    I wish they were easier to make, that means you won’t be whipping up another one anytime soon;)

    Comment by Amber Rose | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  7. I’ve been looking to buy burlap to make bags too, but now I’m re-thinking that one… I don’t need a headache. hehe Your bag turned out way to cute!
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  8. wow, this bag is so amazing! i’ve been looking into sewing with burlap but i didn’t know if there were any special tips to consider, like what kind of needle or thread is required. this has totally inspired me to go for it! any advice on tackling such a quarrelsome fabric is much appreciated. 🙂

    Comment by Julie | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  9. […] loved this ADORABLE burlap bag for a long, long time. The one I linked to is made with an old coffee bag, but you could use any […]

    Pingback by DIY Green Project: Make a reusable waste-free lunch kit! | August 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

