Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

The {ugly} woman!

the chair

I’ve been working on a very interesting and functional piece of…uh, er, mmmm ~artwork!?!?????

the chair…and having a great deal of fun transforming an old schoolhouse chair.

the charm for the chairI’m not even sure what to say for it, or myself, except that it makes me giggle!

the ugly womanI bought this very old photo at an estate sale last weekend.  I somehow left it there because all of the other items fit into one bag and the gal had set this off to the side.  I went back for it later and as I was leaving the Mr that was there said, “that is sure an ugly woman!”

May 4, 2009 - Posted by | art, bespoke design, solder, vintage

7 Comments »

  1. Creepy..Creepy..Creepy….

    Comment by Wendy Girl | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. You should really market this as a “time out” chair for some bratty kid. Talk about scarey! This could solve ALOT of time out problems for parents… it really could use a strap to be able to tie them down:) The “ugly” woman to look over them…. ba ha ha ha.

    Comment by La~Te~Da | May 4, 2009 | Reply

    • OK ladies! We need to use our ‘creative, artistic eyes’!!!!! Let’s think of nice…positive…uplifting things to say. If you had her in your home, I’m sure that she would grow on you and make you smile as well.

      Comment by Elaine | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. This needs to be placed along side ‘bird-boy’ in the creepy section.

    Sorry, I just don’t think my eyes could ever grow fond of her!

    Comment by Lauren | May 4, 2009 | Reply

    • ~who knows, deary, she just could be your ancestor!

      Comment by Elaine | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. I love the time-out chair idea. You should totally market it that way! Except most parents probably don’t want to permanently scar their little ones…..

    Comment by Arlene | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oooh, just thought I would pipe up here on the ugly chair LOL. I like how her head pops over the top of the chair–what did you seal it with? You did seal it right!? My sister thinks our great grandmother looks manly….could be all the hard work (and not having modern female convienences could do to a person right?!). It is a fun chair–when we ever get over there save it for me to sit in ok? The pics of your kids are wonderful–I didn’t know your son was/is engaged. When is the event? Has he graduated yet? Oh well..I’m off to feed my feathered kids–the ducks are fnally laying eggs but not that many.

    Comment by Linda Hansen | May 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

