Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

The joy and {warmth} found in new friends…

Yesterday was a fun-filled and full day for me as I traveled from the NE corner of my state to the SW corner to meet up with my girls.  It started early with a blustery, snowy~rainy day as I headed to South Spokane for the Farm Chicks book-signing.

Welcome!I was welcomed warmly as I entered Chaps [ˈshaps]. Celeste, the owner, also makes a lovely, warm hostess.

hot steamy carmel macchiato

They served me a beautiful and tasty, hot cup of coffee.

Barb & I

I met up with Barb, my brand new friend.  We met through our daughters and realized that we have some other fun and personal connections.  This was our first time to meet face to face and we so enjoyed getting to know each other through visiting and discovering the  many things that we have in common.

Farm Chicks' goods

Serena + Teri = The Farm Chicks
Serena + Teri = The Farm Chicks

This was also my first time to meet up with Teri & Serena, although we have chatted a lot online through blogging and e-mail.  They are sweet, down-to-earth and quite lovely.  When I first arrived, Teri came up from behind me, called me by name and said, “I feel like I know you” …with a warm hug.

Now that’s how you give a country-girl, Farm Chick-style welcome!

Serena & Teri

chaps

Chaps is decorated in such an incredible and wonderful way.  I could never take enough pictures to capture the essence of the place.

inside one of the bathrooms

inside one of the bathrooms

The fun cabinet sits in the entryway...
This fun, old cabinet sits in the entryway…
...as you get closer you realize there are chicks in the open drawer _
…as you get closer you realize there are chicks in the open drawer ~
...adorable, soft, fluffy, {kissing?}, chicks!
…adorable, soft, fluffy, {kissing?}, chicks!

As I left Chaps, Barb and The Farm Chicks with my beautiful and newly autographed book in hand, not only was my car beginning to warm from the wonderful, vitamin D-enriched sun that I so desperately needed but my heart was warmed by new friendship.  It was a blessing to share in some ‘girl time’, something I’ve missed in the move from the west side to the east side of the state, where I left behind a couple of my {sassy} friends who consistently know how to have fun and make me laugh.

I have a wonderful blessing in my friends….

April 4, 2009 - Posted by | blogging, friends, gathering

7 Comments »

  1. I missed it all….sigh. But I’m glad you had fun and I hope your weekend with the girls is wonderful. Love ya lots.

    Comment by Arlene | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh what a fun day-you lucky girl I wish I could have gone!
    And Chaps looks like such a cool place!
    ~Smiles~Tam!

    Comment by Tam | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. Sounds like a delightful lunch! How cool! Chaps looks like such a fun place to eat! Love the parasol light fixture!!!

    Comment by tattingchic | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. No new friends aloud!! Ok just joking.. I’m so glad you had a wonderful morning out..coffee, farm chicks and girls friends..can’t get much better than that!!:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | April 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. Boo hoo! I wish I could have been there with you… (ON my best behavior of course!) You are missed by us over here on the WEST side! Much Love!

    Comment by La~Te~Da | April 5, 2009 | Reply

  6. Lucky you getting to attend the signing at Chaps! I am hoping to make it to Chaps when we come to Spokane for the show in June. We’re making badges to represent our blogs at the show, you can make one too! See my post from April 1st for more details or visit the Farm Chicks blog and see the post Teri did yesterday on the badges! Hope to meet you at the show!

    Comment by Kim G. | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hi Elaine!

    I am so glad you had a great day! You are a sweet flower in God’s garden! 🙂

    Hugs,
    Teresa

    Comment by Teresa Sheeley | April 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

