Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Food for thought…

saving money

It doesn’t seem that it matters how many years I’ve managed a successful garden, each year I feel like a novice.

It also doesn’t seem to matter how diligently I work in and with it, I always seem to fall short.

a penny for your thoughts

I don’t garden because of the boost it gives to my moral and, before now, I haven’t chosen gardening as a way to save money.  This year, however, we are taking a different approach.  We have a strong desire to be more responsible with the resources that we have at hand and at this point, cold hard cash is not one of those resources.

It is indisputable, in my opinion, that growing your own food is the healthiest alternative and with an incredible amount a bit of extra work we feel that we can save money and, in general, do a better job of taking care of our family.

my precious seedlingsIt would be a foolish thought for me to think that this was for everyone but it would be wonderful if I could encourage someone to consider gardening as an alternative for their family.  Maybe you’ve never tried it before or, you have and are now considering whether or not this will be part of your 2009.

Go ahead…you can do it!

saving money

During WWII, Americans were encouraged to grow a Victory Garden.  Today, this type of an effort (although much different), is being referred to as Recession Gardens.  If anything good can come out of these difficult days ahead (which indeed are probable), it would be that each one of us considers how we can embrace the basics of life, to consider simplicity as a way of life, even when it requires hard work.  {sounds a bit like an oxymoron}

Here is an article that I found interesting and here’s another.

There is no time like today to get started.

brighter days are just around the corner

Many seed companies are finding that they do not have enough stock to keep up with the demand.  Frightening thought and one that can compel avid gardeners to keep their own seed from year to year.

Since I’ve already offered more than the average number of links here, I’m going to add one more that is completely unrelated.  Guaranteed to bring a smile to any momma’s face.  My sweet friend, Michelle.

March 19, 2009 - Posted by | garden, home life

5 Comments »

  1. What is this ‘we’ business? Is Mr. T. on board for gardening? Sounds like a good idea and I wish I would be there to help you.

    Comment by Dolly May | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Very admirable! Good luck with your garden.

    Comment by Susan | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. Ahmmm….Dolly May, I’ll have you know that I bought all the seed! And don’t forget that there was someone out there planting the corn! My job was mowing the yard that never ends, remember? Who planted all that grass anyway? I’m not the one who’s running off to Alaska after just getting home from spending a month in Hawaii laying around on the beach! Tell you what I’ll do, I’ll mow your yard up in Alaska in August when I get up there!

    Comment by Mr T | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. Great post! Last year I planted my first garden – it was small. I think I was able to harvest enough veggies to make one salad. hehe My hubby was glad we weren’t relying on it to feed the 4 of us… I’m going to try again this year. I have a terrible time thinning. I did do quite well growing parsley though – too bad it’s not so tasty by the bushel. ;o)
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. AMEN Sister! Last year our garden was eaten by bunnies and deer, (I should have known better). Hopefully this year we will put up a fence around our garden and try it again. I grew up being raised by my grandmother who went through the great depression. She taught me to be very resourceful and it has always been a way of life for me. I enjoy getting outside especially with the whole family and getting dirty! I hope to pass this way of life onto my granddaughter too!Have a wonderful weekend~Smiles~Tam!

    Comment by Tam | March 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

