Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Sometimes, it takes more than a village!

There is an African proverb that says, “It takes a village to raise a child.”  Hillary took it a step further when she wrote (or did she?) a book with the same title.  When Amber wrote a sweet and meaningful post recently with that same famous title, it got me to thinking about my own life.  I’ve always known that a key factor in my ‘turning out’ (some would argue that I have indeed ‘turned out’) had a whole lot to do with the many wonderful people in my life who greatly influenced me.  However, for me it definitely took more than a village – maybe a city – or even a country!

mom & dad - a long time ago

Happy 50th Anniversary, mom and dad ~ this has been my mom's favorite picture, therefore it shows much wear

My parents deserve the greatest show of appreciation from me.  They celebrated 50 years of marriage yesterday.  This commitment for them hasn’t  just been a matter of ‘sticking it out’ because it was the right thing to do.  They are a wonderful example of two people who have loved each other and loved God through the good times and the hard times.  They have daily lived out the vows that were declared publicly on their wedding day.  Thank you mom & dad!

some of my village people

some of my village people

This collage represents just a handful of the people who poured into my life throughout the years.  When I was growing up our home seemed to have a continual flow of wonderful people going through it.  I would latch onto any and all of them and simply make them crazy.  Most of them would give me some of that attention that I so craved.  OK…I was, and still am, a bit needy!

Over the years, I’ve known that now it’s my turn to ‘give into’ the lives of others, especially kids as they are going through their time of ‘turning out’.  That’s a grand opportunity that each one of us have and there are so many creative ways to to it, but it’s not a challenge to take lightly!  😉  What does your village look like?

*In the center picture of the collage, take note of the stylish rw&b outfit that I have on.  I made that myself (w/help, I’m sure) and I was quite proud of it.  Must have been around 1976.

March 14, 2009 - Posted by | appreciation, faith, family, friends

5 Comments »

  1. I have tears in my eyes……thanks for the post today.

    Comment by Arlene | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. A wonderful tribute to your folks on their 50th, and we could not be with them to celebrate.
    A phone call had to do. Beautiful!

    Comment by Aunt Kaye | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. I don’t just have tears in my eyes, I’m crying! Thank you for the tribute, but we have 4 wonderful children, their spouses and their children that have brought us so much happiness through the years, Love you all.

    Comment by Dolly May | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thank you For all you do Elaine.
    You are an inspiration to all the people who come into your life.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ahh, 1976…that was a stylish era wasn’t it! I had a red, white, and blue crocheted aluminum can hat back then….what I wouldn’t give for that now…hey, wait, I bet my mom still has that. I better call her up!

    Comment by Scott | March 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

