Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

What drives a girl to…

…think that her nieces who are 4 & 6 need to make piñatas for their upcoming birthdays?

happily making pinatasKatie & Abbie are with us for a whole week.  I knew that I wanted to do some crafty stuff with them but I wasn’t sure what.  Katie was good to remind me that first day about every 5 minutes that we needed to be working on something.

piñata pride!I took them to WalMart so they could buy something special with the money they had saved up.  As we worked our way through the party aisle (not sure why we were there), they were so impressed with the piñatas.  I said, “Do you girls want to make piñatas for your birthdays?”.    ~So, there you have it!  That’s what drives me…my big mouth!

piñata hi-lights!

Actually, we are, of course, having much fun, as Mr T captured it on film.  Little Miss Wee Wiggles likes it for about 5 minutes at a time but Aunty is helping her right along.  I love getting my hands all gooey and they’re getting used to it as we add a new layer each day.

Piñatas are fun for kids of all ages.  Here is my goo recipe

mix ½ c. flour with 2 c. cold water ~ add to 2 c. boiling water and bring to boil.  Remove from heat, stir in 3 T. sugar.  Let cool.  It will thicken as it cools.  I used my first batch over a two-day period but you wouldn’t want to let it hang out much longer than that.

March 12, 2009 - Posted by | art, craftiness, family, just plain fun

8 Comments »

  1. How fun. One of the first things Tim & I did when we met was made piñatas together. We SOMEHOW managed to get on the same committee to make a big turkey piñata for a Thanksgiving party that our respective groups were jointly hosting at SPU. Have fun with your nieces.

    Comment by deb | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Pinatas!!! Ariba! Ariba!
    Wow… what a fun auntie you are!
    I love Pinatas… something about beating it to death and getting rewarded… and especially if I could fill the whole thing with lipgloss and chocolate:) ha!

    Comment by La~Te~Da | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. It looks like fun!
    Diane

    Comment by Diane | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. Lindsey and I are laughing out loud at Abbie’s expressions in that last collage of pictures. What a little ham! You are a wonderful auntie – full of great ideas!!

    Comment by Arlene | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. What great fun . . . So sorrrrry I missed it. Yeah, right! Got my package. Everyone on the van had quite a bit to say on our way home about the pictures on the charm. Thank you.

    Comment by Dolly May | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  6. What a fun time for the girl’s. They will always remember the fun times with auntie Elaine.

    Comment by Aunt Kaye | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  7. Too Funn. Make sure you take pictures when you wack it..

    Comment by Wendy Girl | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  8. Of course you do such a project for my girls! Thanks so much for being such a wonderful auntie, they will always remember their bithdays this year as extra special!

    Comment by Nichole | March 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

