Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Slipping Through My Fingers…

Schoolbag in hand she leaves home in the early morning, waving goodbye with an absent-minded smile.

Elizabeth with her dad

I watch her go with a surge of that well-known sadness and I have to sit down for a while.

2nd place winner of the Lewis County Baby Contest!The feeling that I’m loosing her forever
And without really entering her world

dress-upI’m glad whenever I can share her laughter ~ That funny little girl!

school pic

Slipping through my fingers all the time I try to capture every minute ~ The feeling in it
Slipping through my fingers all the time

'07 summer

Do I really see what’s in her mind each time I think I’m close to knowing,
She keeps on growing

bubble~lizSlipping through my fingers all the time

'08 Spirit Week

Sometimes I wish that I could freeze the picture
And save it from the funny tricks of time
Slipping through my fingers –

07-LizSchoolbag in hand
She leaves home in the early morning

schoolbag in hand, she leaves home...Waving goodbye with an absent-minded smile

Happy 17th Birthday to my

♥never-to-be-sweet-16-again girl♥

Elizabeth Leigh

**********************************************

My girls think that this is the corniest song off of the “Mama Mia” soundtrack.  I’ll give them another 20+ years…I think they’ll ‘get it’.

March 5, 2009 - Posted by | family

10 Comments »

  1. You just made me tear up..

    Comment by Amber Rose | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Loved this. Happy Birthday to Lizzie.

    Comment by Arlene | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh my goodness…Lizzy’s seventeen! That made me tear up, too. It won’t be long and Amber & I will be singing the same tune to our girl(s) 🙂 Tell your beautiful, sweet girl Happy Birthday from the Watts Gang!

    Comment by Charity | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. yikes! Is she wearing BARE legs in the SNOW?? Only Lizzie:)
    Happy HAPPY Birthday to the cutie pie!
    17 yrs old? .. wow! She grew up WAY to fast…
    Give her our love and birthday wishes!

    Comment by La~Te~Da | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  5. Gosh mom, you made me ruin my makeup…

    Happy Birthday to my gorgeous sis – Time has flown quickly!

    Comment by lifeofwonder | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’ll never forget the time that Ethan was using Liz for target practice with his sling shot. I intervened and she said, ” It’s ok grandma, he didn’t hit me”. I think they were about 3 and 5 or so. He said he needed a moving target. She’s been moving ever since, but she is a sweet girl and I love her!

    Comment by Dolly May | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  7. Happy Birthday Lizzy.
    I dont know what else to say. My girl is right behind her..

    Comment by Wendy Girl | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  8. Can this really be the same litte one whose first cries we heard while standing outside your door in the maternity ward of the hospital! She’s definitely growing up but is still that same sparkling soul that stole our hearts 17 years ago. Please give her our love and a big birthday hug! (This was such a touching, beautiful tribute, Elaine…and yes, I sure get the lyrics!! Love you, my friend!)

    Comment by Jodi | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  9. I cried so hard at that part in Mamma Mia. I so know what you’re talking about. I get those flashes of how my daughters have grown and it’s so bittersweet.

    Comment by Lisa Gatz | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  10. I’m not a crier, but that song get me every time! Moms who have little girls just get it. What a sweet post!
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | March 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

