Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

A Cheap Date~

Mr T and I have a favorite pastime that we enjoy doing together.

2nd hand shopping!

misc. trimsWe were told that there was going to be an estate sale in the big city, so yesterday we left in the wee hours of the morning and headed to that big city.

linens, etc.When we arrived, we signed in as #53 and #54.

misc. fabricBy 9:00 there were well over 100 people going into the house, all at the same time.

I headed directly for the fabric room (I had peaked into some windows ahead of time).  A while later Mr T met me in the middle with an arm full of linens ~ just in case I might want them.  What a sweetie!

my favorites!These are two of my favorite things! 5o¢ and $3

The way that I prefer to go through an estate sale is, quick the first time, grabbing anything that I may want…then nice and slow the second time, thinking everything through as I go.  This sale was so crazy with people that one time was enough.  I met one sweet gal who had a piece of fabric that I wanted really bad.  🙂  It turns out that we do the Vintage Barn Sale together.

an old clock - that works$2~ and stuck to the bottom with yellowed, crackly tape:

Date: Apr 29/52
Guarantee void if this number removed
number
22818

500 sheets!

This is some of my favorite paper to craft with.  I love it’s translucence and the ever-so-slight texture…and now I have an additional 500 sheets for $2!

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

As we finished our day with lunch at my favorite spot, Mr T wrapped it up well by saying that I was his favorite ‘cheap’ date!

after 25 years, there’s no other way to take it than, as it was intended,… a compliment!


February 28, 2009 - Posted by | thrifty shopping

8 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a perfect date to me Elaine, just look at all that lovely vintagy goodness!! and the potholder is just adorable – would you mind if I copied the design?, I am about to make some potholders for mum’s new kitchen and she loves that sort of thing…
    Have a great weekend chick!
    Hugs Jen

    Comment by Jen | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. O man, I wish Brad would go with me to an Estate sale.
    I love that Measuring cup, and the clock..
    Great finds!!!!

    Comment by Wendy Girl | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Why is it all the estate sales I sneek into are so dreadfully overpriced? What a great score!

    Comment by Dapoppins | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thank you so much for giving me one of your cards at the estate sale friday it was fun wasn’t it? We found some great things and hope to have them oin our blog site on sunday or monday. They needed a little cleaning. We would love to have you join us at our show this October. Well send you out a contract as soon as they come back from press. Hope to bump into you soon or chat soon via email or blog. happy junking, celia and gladys

    Comment by Junebugfurnitureanddesign | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. WoW what fun!!! You really made out weel-such great finds-lucky girl! ~Smiles~Tam!

    Comment by Tam | March 1, 2009 | Reply

  6. Sounds like great fun to me, too! I love your measuring cup find!

    Comment by Judy | March 1, 2009 | Reply

  7. Elaine,

    I want to go shopping with you!!!! This winter has truly been too long. We are crazy for FINDS!!!!
    Rolane
    http://www.barnbarnbaby.com

    Comment by Rolane Hopper | March 1, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hi Elaine,

    Sounds like fun! I want to go shopping with you!!
    Rolane
    The Vintage Barn

    Comment by Rolane Hopper | March 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

