Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

An apron creation!

yo-yo cherryWith the danger of completely overdoing it, I made this apron utterly and wholly for ME!  It’s my lucky day!

faux awning for booth

a picture of the faux awning I've made for my booth

I made it with my booth design in mind because I plan to wear it for my summer shows.

vintage{y} apron

As I was working on this, I thought of how my grandmothers possibly made their aprons; taking a piece of fabric and making it work.  This linen, aqua polka dot wasn’t quite enough for two aprons (& I wanted two; 1 for submission & 1 just for me ~ although, I’m so in love with this polka dot that I’ll be keeping them both), …anyway, as I was laying another apron across the fabric to use as a pattern, I decided that I could make this work for two aprons if I pieced some of the contrasting fabric along each side.

close-upI also added a left-over piece of one of the shears that I used in my booth to the under-side of the apron.

yo-yo buttonsI love everything about this apron – it is most certainly my favorite one yet.   I did a few things out of necessity & even accidentally that I will now incorporate into others.

yo-yo buttons

apron pocket

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | aprons, bespoke design, booth design, glorious fabric, sewing, vintage{y} apron

5 Comments »

  1. Very cute apron:) Should be super duper fun for this summer!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. These are so cute . . . I don’t know how you come up with so many ideas. I sure miss you!

    Comment by Dolly May | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. OMGosh! That apron is darling!!! I love it! How cute that it matches booth’s awning! 🙂

    Comment by tattingchic | March 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. Absolutely to die for!

    Comment by Sheila | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. Such a pretty apron!

    Comment by Natty | July 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

