Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

A very calming affect~

ME in my new apron!

I forget how therapeutic sewing can be for me, especially when I haven’t done it for so long.  Working away in complete silence except for the sporadic snap and sizzle from the wood stove.  It even settled my mind enough to cause me to be willing to pose for this shot.   Course, my hand is just a movin’ as I’m telling Mr T what to do.   He really loves that.  😉

apron!

This was an incredibly fun and creative project to work on and this post follows up my last one well…

apron pocket

…pulling together items that compliment and work well together, so very inspiring.  Every piece of fabric used in the apron is vintage and/or thrifted!

apron flap

I used the center of a vintage dresser scarf for the front.  It was ovalish so I cut a straight edge off of the top and took that piece and layered it back over itself.  (following me?)

another apron

I had already used one end of that same dresser scarf on this apron…

and yet another apron

and the other end on this apron.  So now I’ve used it in it’s entirety and I love all three of the aprons.

glass button

The final touch on my new apron was this button.  I believe it’s Bakelite.

Now I plan to bundle this sweet thing up and send it to Stampington & Co. for a Sept. 15th deadline and a hopeful submission in their new magazine, Apron*ology.   This will be my first ever attempt to be published.

February 24, 2009 - Posted by | bespoke design, sewing, vintage{y} apron

9 Comments »

  1. Absolutely wonderful aprons and use of vintage linens. I hope you get published.

    Comment by Judy | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Good luck on the publication. This is a great apron. I use to hate aprons but you and Charity have given me a new love for them. I’m even attempting to make my own apron.

    I finally got this commenting thing. Your teaching me so much.

    Comment by Maggie | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. Good luck mama… I like how you can barely see Trippy in the background of the picture of you 🙂

    Can’t wait to see you in Leavenworth!

    Comment by Lauren | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. It looks great.
    No worries, they will want it.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. It’s gorgeous Elaine! Apron*ology will absolutely love it – lucky things! I am sitting here in the dry heat of our (too-long) Aussie summer, dreaming of the ambience of your ‘snapping and sizzling’ wood stove, ….. with the snow coming down outside… Oh man, such beautiful memories it brought back! Thank you for writing this post, it really took me back… I just love your blog!
    **big hugs to you xx**

    Comment by Jen | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  6. ooohh and p.s. – the place that I get my labels only charges $35 including worldwide shipping for 200 labels, your choice of colour, size, font etc!! You have the most ‘fabulous’ name, all it needs is the label! ;)!!
    link here in case you are interested:)
    http://www.fancyweaver.com/label/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=1

    Comment by Jen | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  7. Good Luck!! That will just add to all of the very AWESOME stuff you have done in life over the past year..sassy business owner, best ever self promoter..and published!!! Keep it up and soon you will be too cool for me to hang out with:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  8. […] it work.  This linen, aqua polka dot wasn’t quite enough for two aprons (& I wanted two; 1 for submission & 1 just for me ~ although, I’m so in love with this polka dot that I’ll be keeping […]

    Pingback by An apron creation! « Tinker Verve | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  9. […] the mail… I haven’t sent this apron into Apron•o•logy yet.  I wanted to send it with a special letter and the idea for that […]

    Pingback by In the mail… « Tinker Verve | March 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

