Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

a little look into my day…

soldering

Here is a true artist at work!  I actually have a hard time calling myself an artist but I remember what a relief I felt last year when I finally admitted to myself that ‘I am an artist.  It seemed as though it helped put another definition to the “who am I?’ question.  My crazy mind works like that of an artist.  I’ve often felt that if I had known that 30 years ago, I would have loved and flourished at an art school.  So, as it is, I am completely self-taught in most of what I do.   …sigh!      {this would be a great place to insert that I wouldn’t change anything in my life!}

soldering

I got this great new respirator mask this week to help save a few brain cells.  I completely despise it – except for the ‘saving brain cells’ part.

soldering

I really shouldn’t complain though – I mean, I know it looks hot!   …along with my new magnifying reading glasses!

more soldering

and, it not only curbs my addiction to hot beverages and alleviates any desire to chew gum (2 $ savers here), it also helps me with my average-0f-one-pound-weight-loss-per-week diet plan.  By causing a slight state of suffocation, it removes any and all appetite.

oh, my aching back!

I’m sorry if I’ve dashed your thoughts that soldering is a glamorous job with promises of a real future.

I’m afraid that breathing too many of those fumes would promise no real future at all.  We have, however,  some acceptable options in my area for suitable assisted living homes – after this post Mr T is going to be on the hunt for one.

Oh,my aching back!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On a lighter note (actually, there isn’t anything light about it – it’s made up of the kind of stuff that’s made me heavy!), I am completely in love with the King Arthur Flour blog.  Their last two posts fascinate me.

p.s. since I’m on the sensitive subject of ‘heavy’, I’m really not as heavy as those pics make me look – at least I don’t think I am.

February 18, 2009 - Posted by | home life, solder, studio workspace

7 Comments »

  1. Aww.. I really like this post:) Although it makes me wish I was sitting right next to you, soldering away, drinking coffee and visiting 😦 I miss you!

    Comment by La Te da | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. It doesn’t make me want to assist you, but I do miss you . . . . a LOT! These pictures will help me explain what you do to these people in Hawaii. They just don’t get it. Love and miss you.

    Comment by Dolly May | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. Fun, fun, fun post!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. I was thinking I could walk around with on of those things on. It sounds like a good diet plan. Do you think people would stare?
    Just joking, you dont look heavy at all. Your BIG blue shirt looks like you borrowed it from Mr. T

    Comment by Water Girl | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh, how I admire your mastery of this craft! In my next life…

    Diane

    Comment by Diane | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. […] It could be that the fumes are leaking through the mask. […]

    Pingback by Tinker Verve | February 21, 2009 | Reply

  7. […] main workspace is where I charm from.  Here, I also work on a variety of paper crafting, including collage work. […]

    Pingback by Never the twain… « Tinker Verve | February 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

