Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Celebrating this day of LOVE!

charmed with {love}

I’m thinking of you, my friends, on Valentine’s Day

the love of baking

And I’ve baked up a batch of LOVE!  I love to bake, it touches a little happy spot way deep down inside.  It’s almost as wonderful for me as giving these baked delights away – actually, I love to feed peopleBaking this week has looked a bit different for me though because I’m diligently working my way through this.    I’m doing it quite well and can honestly say that I’m loving it...and it’s working for me.  While I was baking I didn’t take a lick, snitch or taste.  WOW!

cuts of love

I’m going to share the BEST-EVER Sugar Cookie Recipe that belonged to my great, great Aunt Betty.

Preheat oven to 375°.  Ingredients .½ c. butter    .½ c. shortening     .½ c.  sugar      .½ c. powdered sugar    .1 egg     .1½ tsp. vanilla    .2¼ c. flour     .½ tsp. soda    . ½ tsp. salt    . ½ tsp. cream of tartar.  Cream butter, shortening and sugars until creamy.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Blend in flour, soda, salt and cream of tartar until smooth.  Chill dough; roll out on floured surface.  Cut with cookie cutters.  Bake on ungreased cookie sheet until lightly browned.    Note:  Can also be dropped by spoonful onto cookie sheet and flattened with a glass that has been dipped in sugar.  (that’s the way my grandma did it).

baking love

The smell that fills the house while these are baking in the oven is pure loveliness!

frosted with love

The frosting I use is a splendid compliment to these cookies.  I fill a bowl with powdered sugar, add 2-3 drops of pure vanilla, a scoop of butter and half ‘n half  a little bit at a time (milk works too), until I have the consistency I wantAdd a wee bit of your favorite color and sprinkles and you have a bite of pure heaven.

edible love

This is a picture of my favorite food group.  I could eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner and be happy…but quite sick.  🙂

bouquet of love

The love of my life brought me home these lovely, beautiful and lusciously fragrant roses!

pure love

my son and his sweet Jacklyn

I keep thinking of these sweet Valentines as they busily prepare for their upcoming wedding on August 14th.

Enjoy this special day to it’s fullest and make yourself a cookie!…and, take a bit for me.  😉

February 14, 2009 - Posted by | domesticity, family, in the kitchen, recipe, soldered charms, Valentine's

5 Comments »

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day! The charm and the cookies and the cute young couple all look adorable! 🙂

    Comment by tattingchic | February 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’m like Lauren – I check the blog several times a day to see what is happening. I loved the tea party. Your little nieces will never forget their aunty. What a blessing. At this point I have lost my camera . . . .

    Comment by Dolly May | February 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. Opps, I forgot to tell you one correction. It is your great, great Aunt Betty

    Comment by Dolly May | February 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yummm. those sugar cookies look soo good!!
    happy valentines day.. I missed you.
    xoxoxoxo

    Comment by La~Te~Da | February 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. That is a darling way to announce your wedding!

    The cookies made me hungry.

    Comment by Lisa gatz | February 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

